Roatan, my life underwater part II


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SunsetSunsetSunset

Again
So it finally came!! Semana Santa break. I swear I think I may have been looking forward to this more than Chirstmas break....naw. I guess it was just that this was the longest straight we've gone with out even having a long weekend thrown in somewhere... spoiled I know. I guess with the recent decisions I have made I am just that much more ready to go. But onto to Roatan.
So in a bizarre twist of plans, when 2 of the girls from the Guatemala bound group backed out Sarah decided to tag along with me. I was looking forward to going it alone, getting away from the whole compound and anything school related, but Sarah and I get along fine and are the only 2 who dive anyway.
It worked out too, because she was albe to secure our room when the bus I reseved months ago in anticipation for Semana Santa failed to stop in Comayagua not once, but twice. Making me wait till the next morning to go and lose nearly a full day on the island because I had to take the 4 o'clock ferry. After much discussion with the owner of Hedman Alas, the
SunsetSunsetSunset

From Sundowners bar across from dive shop and hotel
aformentioned bus company, which will never again have my buisness nor that of any other person I come in contact with, I came out a bit richer and at peace with the loss of my day in Roatan.
Things worked out. I got there on Friday and stated my advanced certification class the next day. It was great to be back underwater again. I dove to 100 feet and dove a wreck and saw all sorts of cool fish and turtles and rays! And 3 days later I was a certified advanced diver! Whoo hoo.
I didn't go out much in Roatan... wasn't feeling it most nites after doing up to 3 dives a day and just wasn't digging the vibe there all that much. I can definitly say I like Utila better all around. Given I was just on West End and it would have been nice to see some other parts of the island... next time.
It was a great 5 days of diving and drinking and sunning and not thinking one bit about school
Till the bus ride home, and I felt an overwhelming dread of what I was heading back to and just as quickly a
Sarah, Byum,Michelle, Kari and JordanSarah, Byum,Michelle, Kari and JordanSarah, Byum,Michelle, Kari and Jordan

The group from the dive shop at Sundowners, right on the beach
relief and joy over the decision I have made to leave early. That's right, may be a bit of a shock to some of you, not entirly in character that's for sure. But I wasn't happy, and quite simply I need to be. So I am off... in 2 short weeks, thanks to my recent Hedman Alas advance, I am able to take off a week earlier than expected. This will give me plenty of time to get to Costa Rica and out of the dreaded C4 before my time expires on the 10th of May.
I will take my time getting down the Pacific coast of Nicaragua, meet up with my friend Kevin for a week or two in Costa Rica, a few weeks in Panama and then back to CR to meet my friend Karen, then finally back to Comayagua to collect my stuff and get out!!
If Roatan did anything for me, it was remind me how much I love this traveling thing. It reminded me of my time in Chile and Argentina and Antarctica, it reminded me that this is what I love to do, what I am good at. I remember what it felt like
Red Dog's brotherRed Dog's brotherRed Dog's brother

So there really aren't many pics from Roatan because most everything exciting happened underwater... So this is the dog that greets me every morning who reminds me so much Fred's dog Red. We've become great friends.
to be out there and seeing everything and meeting amazing people and generally doing my own thing. How very rare it is that we are truely ever doing our "own thing." It will be good to be there for awhile again.
That's just over 2 months of traveling before I return back to the States, which this time, I might actually be looking a bit forward to getting to. And just in time for my favorite holiday, our lovely, lovely independence day!! See a lot of you a lot sooner eh? Looking forward to it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Dive boatThe Dive boat
The Dive boat

Lazy days


8th April 2007

Oh my!
Kari, I can't believe this is true! I'm shocked! When are you taking off? I'll be back on Tuesday and I hope I get a chance to talk to you!
8th April 2007

neat travel blog play it safe and have a ball on your travels wish I were with you. Miss you take care.

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb