Scuba Master Finds Closure in Her Island Cove


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
November 25th 2006
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Que Pasa Chicos?
My trip is coming to a wonderful close. We are tucked away on the beautiful carribbean island of Roatan. Unfourtunately, November is the rainy season and we havn't had all that nice weather. This weekend is sopposed to be nice though.

I am offically a PADI open water certified scuba diver! I finished my course today. I cannot even begin to tell you how amazing Scuba Diving is. I am usually a little cautious when it comes to water but I felt completely comfortable down there at 65 feet scuba-ing around. It is so surreal to see a gigantic reef wall with the most beautiful fish swimming around. Everything is quiet except for the sound of your own breathing and the bubbles you make as you exhale. I remember watching my mother play around with her favorite mask when I was little. She always said that she loved to watch the bubbles. This is like that, on steriods. You move through the water at ease and flip upside down only to see your friend's scubageared faces surrounding you. If you look out into the ocean, all that greets you is deep blue nothingness. Its power is rather overwhelming. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

When I am not diving or in Scuba class, I am writing furiously. Its hard because diving takes so much energy out of you. I am taking it easy tonight and going out dancing to celebrate finishing my course. For the next two days, I will be finishing up my work and finding closure for my trip to C. America. My excitment for returning home is growing every day and I am really looking foward to spending the holidays with my family and friends.

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I have to mention how incredible this trip has been for me. I have finally allowed myself the space to look inside myself. Especially at this age, we tend to get so caught up in our busy lives that we forget to examine our emotions and thoughts. I am leaving Central America with a clear mind and a better sense of who I am. I am forever thankful fpr having such a giving family who allowed me to undertake such a program. I truly am blessed.

I hope to see you all soon!
With love,
Emma

Advertisement



27th November 2006

Under the Sea
I couldn't agree more about scuba diving. Everything you say is true and trying to explain it to someone who has never done it is a very difficult thing. "For those who don't understand, no explanation is enough. For those who do, no explanation is needed." Recommend a dive shop on Roatan? I was certified in Utila but thinking of going to Roatan for Christmas. Leave me a comment or message on my blog (Swillett) or e-mail me at jazzy_101@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.057s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb