A plea for those in need in Haiti


Advertisement
Published: January 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post


I am currently on a few days' break after an intense 90 days at the HODR project in the small village of Sungai Geringging, West Sumatra, Indonesia, and though we have sporadic unreliable internet at the HODR house, I haven't been able to watch any TV news from Haiti. Horrifying pictures, sad and tragic articles from the net, yes, but no video. I am now in KL, Malaysia, relaxing on my guesthouse couch on which I have hardly moved the past four days, and only yesterday I watched my first CNN coverage of the aftermath of the devastating Haiti earthquakes. I can't say I remember having so many tears in recent times.

Watching the TV accounts of the devastation and chaotic mess that is Haiti right now and remembering with fondness the 4 1/2 months I spent in country last year helped solidify my need and want to be there. I am committed to helping HODR until the end of February and then have a mother/daughter trip planned to New Zealand (I'm the daughter part.....just to clarify ^_^ ) until the beginning of May. In a heartbeat, if I had the funding, I would commit myself to being in Haiti for an unspecified amount of time.

I lived in Gonaives, Haiti from mid October 2008 through the end of Feb 2009 and though logistically challenging at times, I did enjoy it and the people I met while working in the country. Many of you know I run at the word "go" when there is a disaster in the world. I don't even hesitate. I book a flight as soon as possible and am often one of the first volunteers to show up to the HODR projects.

I have been traveling on a budget for over three years now, with most of the money I have saved helping me fund my trips half way around the world when "disaster duty" calls. Unfortunately, right now I feel a strong desire to head back to Haiti but don't have the funds to do it. I realize I just sent out a mass email asking for donations to help fund HODR's Indo project and Haiti assessment and this too is a big ask but one never knows where this could lead. Many people send money to organizations they know nothing about and don't fully know where their money is going. We'd like to think all the donation money is going to help the suffering people in the disaster zones, but can we really be sure of that? I on the other hand, prefer to actually be on the ground, helping in whatever capacity is needed, volunteering my time.

Depending on the need this May, I would like to be able to bring in clothes, food, tools, supplies of any sort, whatever I can. Does anyone know if the airlines will waive overweight charges for those going into Haiti? In order for me to fund this I need your help. I implore you, I encourage each one of you to forward this email on to others. I'd like to see what kinds of response it can generate.

Please. Haiti needs your help and I can ensure your donations will go to those that need it most. I have some significant connections both in Haiti at the moment as well as en route to offer me assistance in distributing of goods.

By May, things in Haiti will have calmed down some and may be a better time for me, as a non-professional anything (other than a professional volunteer, but somehow I don't think that really counts ^_^ ) to step in and deliver the goods, as they say. I know the urge and the need is right now, but it's not feasible for me to be there at the moment.

I appreciate all of you taking some time to think about this. While living in South East Asia it's far enough removed to really do anything about this disaster in terms of fundraising but not too far removed to act.

Please drop me an email if you would like to make a donation. I should have an account set up before the end of the week.

Thank you,

Suzi
www.hodr.org



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



28th May 2010
Haitian Dance Troupe

Permission to add you as a link
Hi, my name is Carla Hart and I'm a student at BYU in Utah majoring in Public Health. I'm doing a blog on Haiti and would like to add information about the Dance troup as a link. Do you have any other pictures of them and any information? Please let me know. Thanks, Carla
2nd June 2010

I do have more photos and info on the Haitian Dance Troupe...
Hi Carla, I wanted to get back to you and let you know I have more info on the Haitian dance troupe as well as Haiti in general, but are you aware that the January earthquake devastated the School for Boys in Port-au-Prince where the boys lived? I can fill you in with more details if you would like. I am currently back in Haiti but with bandwidth really low, I don't know if I will be able to send any photos with ease. I'll do my best though. Please let me know what specific info you would like from me and I'll get back to you asap. Take care, Suzi

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb