Lovin' Haiti


Advertisement
Haiti's flag
Central America Caribbean » Haiti » Labadee
February 22nd 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Haiti at First SiteHaiti at First SiteHaiti at First Site

As I walked off the boat it was like walking into a postcard. Gorgeous!
Only a small portion of Haiti was open to us. We tried to walk down a roadway leading out of a shopping area but we were stopped by guards. The seven or so hours we had were more than enough time to explore the beach and wooded areas that were open to us and the many "shops" along the way.

Most of the merchant areas were small huts side by side about 6 by 8 feet in size. One merchant called me into the shop and I realized that the hut was actually two shops ran by two different people. One on the left side of the hut and one on the right. The two merchants began a tug of war with my attention, both trying to persude me to buy from their "store." It was kind of overwhelming but at the same time I ended up getting what I felt was a fair deal on the things that I liked. The aggressive selling style of these merchants was not a problem for me because if I didnt like something they were showing me I would just tell them to show me something else until I found something I liked.
Greeted by a Haitian BustGreeted by a Haitian BustGreeted by a Haitian Bust

I am not sure who this dude is, but he looks pretty important!
They are also very willing to negotiate. If I was a person who didn't want to be haggled in any way I would have stuck to the shops at the front of the port. You will not get hassled there but you also will not be able to negotiate price like you will at the merchant huts. I did purchase two Haitian Dolls at one of the front shops for 10 dollars each. They were very nice and the ticketed price seemed fair. All of the other souveniers I bought were from the merchant huts.

Labadee was very beautiful. It had sort of a theme park feel to it though because it was very small and separated from the rest of Haiti. There is a roller coaster and a long zip line up in the hills. The line goes over the beach and the water in dramatic fashion. It makes the smaller zip line in Labadee look like childs play. I went swimming in the little cove, which was rocky and small but the water was clear and I could see tons of these long, silver fish swimming around me. I swam to the rock wall that had been
Fresh off the BoatFresh off the BoatFresh off the Boat

Me, complete with tourist accessories
built there and i saw a bunch of giant bug looking things scamper away when I approached. I climbed up the rocks aways to look for tide pools but then I saw a sign that said Keep off The Rocks so I was like oops. I went back in the water like a good girl and then I swam back to the shore. They had beer for sale right on the beach, which was great. I was in a beach chair sipping a Corona and looking out over a place I never though I would actually see in real life. Awesomeness!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mysterious StairwayMysterious Stairway
Mysterious Stairway

Where might it lead us?
Something in the distance...Something in the distance...
Something in the distance...

What's that red thing?
Mystery solvedMystery solved
Mystery solved

I'ts a balcony looking out on the port. We found a Haitian there staring at our ship. He was a little wary of us till my friend Funnyclown made him this balloon. Then he was all smiles!
Me in Wooded GlenMe in Wooded Glen
Me in Wooded Glen

There were ginormous mosquitoes here and they ate me alive despite the repellent I had put on. Perhaps I need a special Caribbean grade bug spray lol
What a Palm should Look likeWhat a Palm should Look like
What a Palm should Look like

The palms here are a far cry from the mangy, half dead ones at home in Nor Cal. And they have actual COCONUTS in them! Wow.
Ahhhhhhh!Ahhhhhhh!
Ahhhhhhh!

I added my own twist to this one, which is a tribute to those relaxing Corona ads from back in the day. Now I really know what they were talking about...
Sips on the BeachSips on the Beach
Sips on the Beach

Soooo relaxed... Little did I know that my spray on sunscreen was failing me in several places. Oh well, that's my bad for being too lazy to slather on the lotion variety.
Calm Blue OceanCalm Blue Ocean
Calm Blue Ocean

I hereby vow to take a deep breath, close my eyes and think of this place whenever I am stressed out. God I hope it works!
Haitian Women with BalloonsHaitian Women with Balloons
Haitian Women with Balloons

It was great to see the look on people's faces in Haiti when Funnyclown broke out the balloons. They would seem puzzled until they recognized the shape he was making then they would laugh with amazement. So fun!
The World's Cutest GunThe World's Cutest Gun
The World's Cutest Gun

Balloon guns are great because they are cute and harmless but still make you look like a bad-ass!
Meow meow KittyMeow meow Kitty
Meow meow Kitty

This guy is cool because he asked for a cat. No one ever asks for a cat except me. Cat lovers are cool! ^..^
Gettin' their Groove OnGettin' their Groove On
Gettin' their Groove On

This Haitian Dance Troupe was really fun to watch. It seemed like the dancing really made them happy.
Coupled upCoupled up
Coupled up

This part of the dance reminded me of a BBC mini series ballroom scene set in 19th century England. I bet those Brits couldn't have done it barefoot though.
Dancers+Balloon Hats=Fun!Dancers+Balloon Hats=Fun!
Dancers+Balloon Hats=Fun!

Thank you for humoring us tourists and our wacky ideas
Holy ****!Holy ****!
Holy ****!

Wow that looks fun but I will never know from experience given that I am a total chicken. Bock bock!
Haitian BandHaitian Band
Haitian Band

Their music had a Calypso-Bluegrass feel to it. Very nice!


22nd February 2012

Great blog! It looks really fun!
I'm looking forward to your next adventurous travel blogs. Beautiful pictures!!! Great writing too. It was funny how you go up the stairs and meet the Haitian man. Keep up the blogging!
27th February 2012

Enjoyed your blog.
Looking forward to reading more.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb