To EcoSan and Beyond!


Advertisement
Published: April 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Baobab tree and offeringsBaobab tree and offeringsBaobab tree and offerings

love these magical trees....this is THE famous one in Milot, rumored to have been the meeting place for planning the slave rebellion and revolution. i found out after the fact but now it makes sense that this tree in particular seemed so special...
Hello all!

Well some of you are aware of this news, but I have accepted a position here with SOIL, the organization I came down to volunteer with. Things are exciting around here: we're building a new composting site, we've got goats at the farm, and the mangoes are now in season (avocados are next)!! I'll probably be down here for the next year or so, so if you're down in the Caribbean area, stop over and say hi - or we can meet in the D.R. - I'd love to go back and visit....

The slacklining is going well, and my 2 good friends here and I have been invited to be in a big showcase! I've never performed on a slackline before and so we're now working on a routine, and I'm looking for costumes and facepaint - at least we have another month and a half to prepare. But this is exciting, and maybe I'll even perform on the silks too, or hula hoops? I need to get those things down here...despite how much I'm working, at least I'm taking a few hours every afternoon to go play in the park - important!

But since
Slacklining funSlacklining funSlacklining fun

get the people excited to learn!!
I'm not technically traveling anymore, I won't be posting as often (unless there's something real exciting). For those of you who have my email, stay in touch! Lots of love, and lots of mangoes,

Mon


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

One of my studentsOne of my students
One of my students

He learned so fast and is now helping me teach!
One of our composting sitesOne of our composting sites
One of our composting sites

the bins are hanging with the banana trees
Experimenting with a new cover materialExperimenting with a new cover material
Experimenting with a new cover material

Ground peanut shells - so far so good :)
Staff day at the beach!Staff day at the beach!
Staff day at the beach!

compost together, play together
Easter weekend at the CitadelEaster weekend at the Citadel
Easter weekend at the Citadel

it's a tradition for haitians to make the big hike up - about 15,000 people everyday for 4 days....crazy! i was there with a colleague checking out the sanitation scene there, unfortunately non-existent...


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb