First few days in Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Woohoo we've arrived! The arrival was slightly stressful as my phone decided not to be able to send/receive texts or make calls so I didn't know when Rose was going to arrive. But with the help of the lovely Rob and Caz we managed to get in touch and turns out she'd just landed and was going through customs! I arrived at our hostel Casa Cristina to one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen over two volcano silhouettes (photo to follow we hope) and then there was a procession for Semana Santa with hundreds of people dressed in purple cloaks carrying huge religious monuments/statues. Not bad for my first few hours. I'd also broke into my Spanish on the hour drive here with my driver which was pretty satisfying.

Our reunion was amazing and, apart from the fact Rose is more tanned than me and looking beautiful as ever, nothing had changed. We stayed up for about 4 hours catching up on everything and with both of us completely confused about times fell asleep at about 9pm local time.

We woke up the next morning and went out to explore. Antigua really is as beautiful as they say in the guidebooks. Everything, from the houses to the people and plants is colourful and bright. The children are so gorgeous here and we have been tempted several times already to steak one. We came back to the hotel and chilled on the rooftop terrace darling for a bit and then went out to find some lunch. We bumped into Alice, a lovely lassie Rose had met on the plane, and chilled with her for the rest of the day. Lunch was AMAZING. Rose had Menu del Dia and I had the veggie option which were 20 Quetzales each (about 3.5 dollars) for an enormous plate of Tortillas, beans, guacamole and the real-deal nachos. We could get used to this.

Then we went and explored the market where we saw dried fish and lizards and the smell made us leave quicker than we would have liked. We then went and sat in the sun in the Parque Central (The Antiguan Central Park being much prettier than the American version we decided). We had supper of Nachos at about 6pm then went home and talked some more before catching an early night. This is the life, ey?

Just when we thought life couldn't get much better, I was woken up at about 3am with awful cramps and spent the next 12 hours throwing up about 12 times. Great. We'd both accepted that we'd get ill on this trip but I certainly hadn't expected it on the second day! Rosey was a great Doctor, reading to me and buying me Cocacola. All in all, not the best of second days but it's day 3 now and I'm feeling slightly more human.

That's all for now, we have a few more days here in Antigua where we're going to climb Volcan Pacaya (an ACTIVE volcano) and I'm considering getting some private salsa lessons! Big love xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb