Wedding in Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bienvenidos a GuatemalaBienvenidos a GuatemalaBienvenidos a Guatemala

I'm very anxious in entering Guatemala. Here I am on top of Carla's head, right after we touched down in Guatemala City Immigration.
Hey all -

This time, I’m heading down into Central America with Keith and Carla, to attend Jackie and David’s wedding. Many of Jackie’s relatives are from Guatemala, and she wanted to honor her Guatemalan family by having a wedding ceremonial in her native country (although she was born and raised in the States). Thus, a lot of friends were getting together in Guatemala for the aforementioned event.

We started off in Guatemala City, and proceeded to towns of Antigua and Panajachel. There were many beautiful landscape sightings along the way, dominated by many volcanoes. It was both my and Carla’s first time for seeing an active volcano, so we were very excited. Quaint colonial towns, friendly locals, and traveling with good friends contributed into an excellent relaxing vacation.

That’s it for now, until next time.

-Cy


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Guatemalan landmarkGuatemalan landmark
Guatemalan landmark

I wish we had time to visit Tikal, the city of ancient Guatemalan temples. But this time I am pictured in front of its advertisement sign in Guatemala City international airport.
Volcan de AguaVolcan de Agua
Volcan de Agua

I love the scenery we have here in Antigua.
Quiant town, ain't it?Quiant town, ain't it?
Quiant town, ain't it?

Is it a ruined church?
Carla and CyCarla and Cy
Carla and Cy

We're just posing in front of a church in Antigua.
Antigua in the morningAntigua in the morning
Antigua in the morning

A bird can breath up here!
La Antigua GuatemalaLa Antigua Guatemala
La Antigua Guatemala

Here I am squished in between iron work for Town of Antigua sign.
Vroom vroomVroom vroom
Vroom vroom

I am hitching a local motorcycle in Antigua.
Keith and CyKeith and Cy
Keith and Cy

I am just chilling with Keith under one of Antigua's many porticos.
Local flowersLocal flowers
Local flowers

I am blending in nicely with the local flowers. A bunch costs US$3.
Flooring parquetFlooring parquet
Flooring parquet

I am blending in fairly well on our hotel's parquet floor. Hotel Aurora, Antigua.
AntiguaAntigua
Antigua

I love how these colonial church details come together in a sculptural way.
Pilón de maderaPilón de madera
Pilón de madera

I found this grain-mashing machine at Antigua's small restaurant.
Cerveja de GalloCerveja de Gallo
Cerveja de Gallo

Local cuisine, of course being washed off with its famous beer, Cerveja de Gallo.
Carla and CyCarla and Cy
Carla and Cy

I love this volcanic lake, which is surrounded by many volcanoes.
The only church in PanajachelThe only church in Panajachel
The only church in Panajachel

It is an eerie church in Panajachel, of which its dramatic ritual is involving crying, bawling girls (as I was told).
Lago de AtitlanLago de Atitlan
Lago de Atitlan

Just enjoying our cruising time.
Teresa and CyTeresa and Cy
Teresa and Cy

And she loves me. We are cruising around Lago de Atitlan.
Antigua oil paintingAntigua oil painting
Antigua oil painting

A rare night scene painting of famous Antigua arch, as seen in one of Guatemala City's streets.
Guatemalan License PlateGuatemalan License Plate
Guatemalan License Plate

And of course there is a picture of me with local's license plate.
La Fuente, AntiguaLa Fuente, Antigua
La Fuente, Antigua

The small shopping mall complex is named after the water fountain.
Carla and ICarla and I
Carla and I

in front of La Fuente in Antigua.
Antigua porticoAntigua portico
Antigua portico

Antigua is decorated with many beautiful porticos. Here I am resting on the foot of a portico.
Natalia and CyNatalia and Cy
Natalia and Cy

Another loving girl for Cy.


4th June 2007

I have a big smile on my face just reading your beautiful and creative mind. It was a pleasure bringing Cy with us... but it was more a pleasure bringing him back safe in one piece! Carla
24th January 2009

Note
The name of the beer is "Cerveza Gallo" which means "Rooster Beer"... "cerveza de gallo" means "Rooster's Beer" or "Beer made of roosters".. This beer is very famous along all central america and it is well known as one of the most alcoholic beers around the world.

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb