last one for a while


Advertisement
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

so on friday i leave for Colomba where i will have probably limited internet access, so the next time i'll be able to post won't be until i'm in el salvador. It's crazy to think i'm 1/3 done with my semester abroad.

My group and I took part in a Mayan Ceremony on tuesday which was fairly interesting. Later we found out what our Mayan symbols were. I'm not entirely sure what to make out of all of it. I was only able to understand bits and pieces but apparently my metal is silver, i have headaches daily and cramps once a month. i sincerely hope that i misunderstood that last part. Had i known that i had to pay to recieve this bizarre information, i probably would've passed on it.

Our final class here in Xela is tomorrow, and then we have a graduation ceremony where we all have to give some sort of final goodbye. It could be in the form of a poem, a song, a dance, a skit, or whatever else. I'm still not sure what I'm going to do. All the teachers pretty much take me for this really goofy gringo who misunderstands most things that they say. Example: after the mayan ceremony, a teacher asked my "que es tu symbol de maya?" but i heard "cuando es el cinco de mayo?". there have been countless stories like that. probably the funniest one was when i misunderstood "te gusta comer Pollo Campero?" with "te gusta comer Pollo con Perro?", for those who don't know that means Chicken with Dog. So for my final farewell i might sing some funny song or something.

well, that's a quick update. i hope everybody has a great valentine's day and the next time i post, i'll be in San Salvador!

Advertisement



14th February 2008

HIIII!
Happy Valentine's Day Joseph! I missssssss you!!!! <3
15th February 2008

everything
I'm glad to see that you've been having a fun time Joe. How Columbia and El Salvador are even better. Great pictures by the way. A lot better than the shit storm that's taken over this place. Funny stories too. I took German for 6 years and I'd probably make mistakes constantly if I went to Germany. Anyway, happy V-Day and hope you have a fun time the rest of the way. Cya next year! Scott
15th February 2008

YOU´RE SO FUNNY
I HAD NOT READ YOUR TRAVEL BLOG WHERE IT SAID THAT YOUR TELEPHONE WAS STOLEN, AND TOMAS GAVE ME YOUR NUMBER, WE WANTED TO SAY HELLO, AND YES, A MAN ANSWERED, AND THEN I CHECKED MY E-MAILS AND WENT BACK TO YOUR MESSAGES AND READ ALL ABOUT IT. YOUR STORIES ABOUT EL 5 DE MAYO, AND POLLO CAMPERO, ARE LINES TO BE USED IN THE FUNNIEST COMEDY.... YOUR PICTURES OF LAKE ATITLAN ARE MAGNIFICENT, AND THEY TELL US YOU WHERE VERY CLOSE TO OUR WEEKEND HOME. WE HOPE SOMEDAY WE CAN COINCIDE AND TAKE YOU THERE AS WELL AS ALL YOUR FAMILY. WE WISH YOU THE BEST IN ALL YOUR ADVENTURES, AND THAT YOUR HUMOR KEEPS YOU ALWAYS WITH THAT GOOD SENSE OF EVERYTHING. GOD BE WITH YOU, LOVE, MARGUERITE AND TOMAS
16th February 2008

I enjoy reading your blogs
Hi Joseph, I just read all your blogs, and felt very entertained doint so. You have a great way of describing your daily events and emotions, so keep them coming. Sorry we missed you before you left for El Salvador, se could have provided room and board for all 12 of you at our house in Atitlan, which is located near the village of Cerro de Oro, on the south side of the lake. Enjoyed your photos too. Let us hear more and more from you. Best wishes, Tomas
16th February 2008

Valentines Day
Hope you had a good one although I doubt it's celebrated there!! Mr. G. and I are fine and we love hearing from you and your spirit and adventures are amazing!! It's cold here as you might guess!! All is well and we are counting the days till your return and be safe please!!! God bless,Love, Mrs. G.
17th February 2008

Hi!
I'm so happy we get to read about your trip-it looks like you are going to have some great stories when you get back! I miss you lots and will hopefully hear from you again soon! :)
20th February 2008

Wish you well
Dear Joseph: Incredible, that your time in Guatemala is almost finsh. We wish the best of luck in the other countries, and remember if you have time for weekend or so give me a call and we will plan something. Your stories are great. I always read them with a big smile. Take good care of yourself. Best regards, Richard

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb