Still Kicking!


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes...in case you were wondering...
We're still alive! And surprisingly healthy to boot! Again... sorry for the delay in the updates. We have just all been working hard, and there has been so much to do that we hated to take time out of the workday to go to the internet cafe while others were slaving in the hot sun. Although we've been busy, I can probably give you a quick summary of what we've been doing since the completion of the school desks:
Bending steel
Cutting rebar
Twisting wires
Digging holes to China

As usual, Mami's backyard has been transformed into a noisy, dirty workshop... I often wonder where she gets the patience to have all of us Gringos come in and take over her home the way we inevitably do. The woman must be a saint.

When we haven't been constructing framework for the cement portions of the school, a crew of about 15 people have been going out to the actual school site itself to do some digging. And lots of it! The ground is tough, so we have to use a pick ax in order to loosen the dirt before shoveling it out. It's a process, and I personally have a monsterous blister on my hand that makes me look like I have some sort of life threatening, flesh eating skin disease.

I'm falling asleep right now, so I'm going to have to update these blogs after we get home. I just can't keep my eyes open any longer. Will add more pictures and info later in the week.
Thank you for all your thoughts and prayers!

Advertisement



19th March 2007

Hi Prone
Hi Prone, I just thought I would touch base. Looks like you are having a good time digging a ditch. When are you coming back to CF?
20th March 2007

Dig, dig, dig
Hey you all you beautiful workers! Great job and a week well-done I am sure. My love to you all and to the Dardon familia. I wish I could be there to see the progress. Yay you!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb