Vida en Xela


Advertisement
Published: October 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Amparo did my hair!Amparo did my hair!Amparo did my hair!

This is a traditional hair wrap worn by traditional Mayan women
Lately life has consisted of figuring out our TRAMA jobs. It's definitely going to be a time-consuming task while we're here, but we're both very excited for it. We took more pictures and started officially responding to messages. We're also practicing our Spanish with Amparo, one of the presidents (there's a president and a vice-president; I'm not positive who is in which position, but I believe Amparo is the president and Oralia is the V.P.). I'm sure as time goes on we'll practice more with Oralia and the ladies who sell their works to TRAMA. I included a picture of the empanadas we made. There were so many I think they were the only thing we ate for about 4 days. I also threw in a picture I took of us Facetime-ing (just like Skype...) with our old roommate, Jason. He is so kindly taking care of Jade for us while we're in Guatemala, and we were able to see her for awhile too. It was so so awesome, but it tugged on the ol' heartstrings and I got a tiny bit teary eyed. It was really wonderful to see both of them.

I believe we're going to go out tonight so I should probably get off the computer (and stop watching the "Charlies Angels" marathon in Espanol on TV haha).



Besos a todas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Finally a picture of the EMPANADASFinally a picture of the EMPANADAS
Finally a picture of the EMPANADAS

Homemade dough stuffed with beef, spices, green olives, and a hard boiled egg. Roger says they taste like his Argentine ones


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb