Ominous Rumblings


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Quetzaltenango, mysteriously but universally referred to as Xela, the day before yesterday. Took a long walk around town between about 11:00 and 16:00 yesterday, taking in the zoo (sleazy looking monkeys, bedraggled eagles, and a frightening children´s playground full of sharp bits, hand crushing chains, and of course poor wiring exposed to the elements and curious fingers). Having spent the week on the beach, I figured I had a pretty good tan, and besides it was cool so I left off with the sun protection. Forgetting that we were at 2000 meters. So by the end of the day I had a very charming farmer´s sun burn, and a promising looking rash developing on the back of my calves. Also made a very good attempt at losing the cheap clip-on replacement sunglasses that I bought in Puerto, but after an hour of walking around to various places trying to remember the spanish word for glasses a nice young maya lady laughed at me and produced the clip-ons. To top it all off, I have a very strange lesion growing between my nose and my lip.
We signed up for a trip to climb Volcan Tajamulco this weekend. Apparently hasn´t erupted in at least 500 years, although the way things are going lately I´m thinking Saturday is looking good for the next one...

Advertisement



14th March 2005

San Miguel calling
Chris, my son. Now that I´m allowed to read your diary, how very entertaining it is!! Love your Blogs. Getting to know you is a treat. Love ya. - Mom

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb