With Unprecedented Speed


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends,

So never before have I written two letters within such a short proximity of each other. But alas, I am venturing to an area where I don't know what my next chance to write will be. Let me continue.

A few weeks before I left on this trip, I read this story on the cover of the New York Times.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/03/us/03deport.html?_r=1&scp=6&sq=guatemala&st=cse&oref=slogin

It tells the story of Luis Alberto Jiménez, a resident of Jolumcu, Gatemala. He was working, illegally, in Florida when he was hit by a drunk driver. After being treated, for a time, in an American hospital, he was deported, by helicopter back to Guatemala city. From there, he was soon returned to his village. The man suffers from brain damage reducing him to the mental capacity of a 4th grader. He cannot walk. As a student of international relations, I am well aware that his problem is not really of immigration status, as the article makes it seem. Instead, he is a victim of economic status, as are many in this country, and so many others.

There isn't really much I can do, as what he needs is far beyond my means. But there is a little, and I'm going to try and do that. I have spoken with some people in charity community here, and they've told me that a modest donation to help his family pay for food would not be in poor taste, and would not go unoticed, assuming that I make my intetions clear, and cover my bases. He lives in a village outside of Soloma, in the far north west highlands of Guatemala. Tomorrow, Jin and I will leave this tourist haven of Panajachel, and make our way to Soloma. From there, we will ask around, and try to find someone who will take us to his village. We are going to try to make a donation to his family of one hundred dollars.

This being said, if anyone would like to contribute to this donation, I have set up a website to do that here.

http://luisjimenez.chipin.com/luis-alberto-jimnez

I've never tried anything like this before, so I really have no idea how it is going to turn out. I may reach him, and I may not. If I do, I will give him the entire donation. If not, I will contact the other charity I know here in Guatemala, the one tied to the Guatemalensis school that Lizzie and I stayed at 2 years ago, and I will make the donation to them. I will not be able to use the internet, I don't think, until I have either reached this man, or not, so you won't be hearing from me until then. Wish me luck.

Love,
Carl

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb