Lex's Wedding Antigua


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I traveled to Guatemala with my 6 month old, Matthew, and my parents for my friend's wedding. Andrew was supposed to come, but ended up in the ER sick with strep throat among other things the day before the trip. Lex and John had rented the hotel Panza Verde, which is a small but amazingly beautiful hotel in Antigua. The rooms were incredible, and I'm gradually starting to come over to the dark side and prefer places like this as opposed to hostels. I'm also in my 30's with a baby, too, so as much as I don't want to admit it, maybe my life is changing a bit. Anyway, Matthew has a passport, and we will see the world, even with a baby. After checking in, we wandered around town, took a quick trip through the market and came back to relax with the group at the hotel. The next day, Lex had planned several tours to choose from. Again, I'm not a tour girl, but these were actually great. They were private, so that makes a tour much more bearable. I chose to do the Sip-N-Cycle tour(with Andrew's love of bikes and coffee, I felt so bad doing this without him- but I got him a jersey) where we rode bikes to a nearby town and toured a coffee plantation. Then, we went to one of the owner's homes where they dry and process the coffee. It always amazes me how so much of the world lives. This man brought us into in home and his wife showed us how to roast the beans by hand over a fire. This family is part of a collective called La Gente, and you can buy their coffee through a distributor in Michigan. I REALLY recommend supporting these people! Once we were back, it was time to get ready for the rehearsal dinner(no rehearsal). Lex planned it at Blue Sky at sunset on their terrace overlooking Antigua. We had amazing food, drinks and company. Oh, and Matthew took his first tuk tuk ride! The next day was the wedding. Lex was beautiful as always in an all lace gown. They got married at a church ruin near our hotel, and I honestly cannot imagine a more beautiful place for a wedding. The reception was back at the hotel with a great little band, and we danced the night away. After the band quit, we took our party up the the terrace, where John brought his guitar out and we sang songs and talked for hours. It was a great evening and beautiful wedding. The next morning, we were off to Lake Atitlan. It is a very pretty lake in a crater up in the mountains. We all rented out houses on the hillside and relaxed for a few days, swimming, hiking and walking around the little cities dotting the lake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0882s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb