Santiago & San Antonio


Advertisement
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mayan WomanMayan WomanMayan Woman

The women´s head coverings are several meters long and wound around the head. The styles, patterns and colors used by each village are unique to that village.
There are Mayan villages surrounding the Lake. We stop in Santiago and it is here that I can see the poverty of the Mayan people, who have gotten some pretty crappy deals over the years. As the boat pulls up from the dock natives run to meet you. I am accustomed to this from other countries, but I have never seen it under these conditions before... the dogs on the street look like skeletons, flies swarming around them, I don´t know if they are dead or sleeping. children pulling at my arms and legs, begging for money for food, not all the villages are in this condition, but I am searching for smiles here too...there are smiles everywhere...I just can´t find them here. I don´t want to sound like some kind of world hunger campaign, but just be damn grateful if you have food on your table.

For one Quetzale, equivalent to about 20 cents, this woman unwraps her head covering tocoyal for tourist photos.

Next we visit the village of San Antonio. This village lives simply and comfortably, and reminds me of the Greek island of Santorini.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

San AntonioSan Antonio
San Antonio

At the highest point is the church and a beautiful view.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb