Day 16 - Panajachel, Lake Atitlan & Chichicastenango (Mayan Market)


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Lago de AtitlánLago de AtitlánLago de Atitlán

Lake Atitlan
The previous day we left Mexico and headed to Panajachel in Guatemala. It was a fairly long day as we travelled by bus.

Our first full day in Panajachel and we headed over to the biggest Mayan market in Central America in a town called Chichicastenango. On the way to the market, the bus driver pulled over so that we could get some great shots of Lake Atitlan. Lake Atitlan is this massive lake which Panajachel is situated next to and we got some great photos of the lake as the bus driver stopped by when going up the mountains.

When we got to the Mayan market it was extremely busy with Mayans and tourists. We first visited this little church which was like the second church in San Cristobal; Catholic but with a Mayan feel to it. After the church, Rachana and myself walked around the markets. I found the markets too crowded and everyone was pushing in to each other, it reminded me of my visit to Marrakesh a couple of years back. The markets did sell some interesting stuff like handmade clothes, table cloths and rugs. I didn’t really spend any money as couldn’t find gifts
Mayan lady selling clothesMayan lady selling clothesMayan lady selling clothes

Mayan lady selling clothes
to buy, but it was interesting to look around and I lost count with how many times I said “No gracias” as people tried to sell me things.

After the trip to the market, I just chilled at the hotel for a couple of hours. The sun was out, so I read my book in the sunshine, hoping to catch some rays.

In the evening we went to this restaurant in the town where they played some live music and the food was fantastic. Afterwards, I went back to my hotel room and chilled having some rum and cokes and talked to some of the guys who hadn’t gone to bed early.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Church at ChichicastenangoChurch at Chichicastenango
Church at Chichicastenango

Church at Chichicastenango
Crowded MarketCrowded Market
Crowded Market

crowded market
Me in mini vehicleMe in mini vehicle
Me in mini vehicle

Me in mini vehicle


28th August 2013

Atitlán Lake
Atitlán Lake is a beautiful place. You can find nice hotel in Panajachel for your trip.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb