pretended in America that I was above all of that and liked sophisticated literature


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What up bitches! Ed is back in the game. Just when you thought you didn´t have to read my random musings anymore, travelblog is back on line and all my beatiful posts have been saved, thanks to those of you who helped recover them.

Once again I really don't know how I am going to summarise this week especially as I only have ten minutes left on the interent now - and I didn{t even have time to read Rob's blog so I hope you guys are doing well. Rob sent me a message saying you're nearly finished so I hope the last stretch goes well and that everybody reading this finally sorts themselves out and sponsors you.

I am still having a lovely time. Tikal was very big and very impressive and we had a couple of treks through the rainforest when I was there although it was raining and misty which spoilt the view and added to the atmosphere. There is much more I could say about the place but I wont start on that now except that I saw monkeys and tucans and big big trees.

The week has gone well. I have only had two Spanish lessons, I got a bit lazy on that front and Harry Potter got in the way too. I pretended in America that I was above all of that and liked sophisticated literature but it was all rubbish, I was as addicted as anyone (although I still think buying four copies and lugging them around the US was excessive). Next week I am having three lessons and intend to practice more in between. My Spanish, after an initial surge, isn't really coming on that well and I still have a woeful vocab but it´s not a problem at all.

The family is still going well. I don't associate with them as much as some of the others do but they are generally the ones with good Spanish. It is a shame because they are almost part of the family and I am most definitely not. I don't know why I got sick of the food last week but this week I have found it much better. I have had cornflakes for breakfast a couple of times with which I am not impressed but this is my biggest grumble.

I have been working on the book ends I started last week which are finished and look pretty good, have chopped back a load of vines threatening the reforestation and have dug some holes with a big metal pole. It's exhausting work out there in the mornings in the sun and on those days I really need a sleep in the afternoon.

Today I walked to some fairly nearby ruins and had freshly fried tacos in a little restaurant with a papaya drink before coming to Flores. Tomorrow I am joining most of the volunteers who or going on a school trip to some more ruins that Mateo has organised. I hope all the various visits don't 'ruin' them for me.

That's about all. I am well and stuff, thanks for the emails and sorry I haven?t had time to do proper responses. Hope it's still sunny across the pond.

Advertisement



12th August 2007

Haha - I knew it. You just couldn't resist Harry Potter! We finished it a couple of weeks ago, though Al is now working through it a second time; presumably he missed the key plot lines in his first sitting.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb