My going away party / Rio Dulce / Casa Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hotel BackpackersHotel BackpackersHotel Backpackers

Me and the two girls at reception. Delym and Ciceli
Well the journey is winding down now and I'm on to new adventures! I had an awesome experience volunteering with the orphanage. The volunteers and the kids made this one of the best, most eye opening experiences of my life. I learned a few things about myself, gained a better understanding of other parts of the world and met some really great people along the way. Guatemala is a wonderful place, the people are trusting and friendly and ·Casa Guatemala is well worth your time.

But now I'm taking some time for myself these last two weeks for some diving in Honduras! I'm diving with this outfit called Cross Creek and the people are great! You can see straight to the bottom of the ocean the water is that clear, and it's possible I might get to see the whale sharks which are the largest of all marine life I believe. The locals here speak creol which sounds alot like the Louisianan accent but thicker, the food is great but there are sand flies! Sand flies are invisible creature that sting you and then dissapear, but I have DEET!


I just had my going away party and like all the going away parties it was wild, crazy and fun!




Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Henry and his WomanHenry and his Woman
Henry and his Woman

We are on our way back home after a night at backpackers.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Matteo and Chapin at sunset
Gillian and IGillian and I
Gillian and I

On the boat ride home...
Keke and KevinKeke and Kevin
Keke and Kevin

The Scott and Spaniard being gangsters with my bandana...
New arrival at the orphanageNew arrival at the orphanage
New arrival at the orphanage

He calls me Papa...
In TownIn Town
In Town

In the town of Frontera, local fried chicken stand
In TownIn Town
In Town

Local produce stand where we bought groceries
FronteraFrontera
Frontera

Street Vendors
Meet MarketMeet Market
Meet Market

The hang the meet on a hook and no one knows how long it sits there.... Aged beef anyone?
The Sundog CafeThe Sundog Cafe
The Sundog Cafe

One of the best places to eat in Frontera...Great food and great people...
Going Away PArtyGoing Away PArty
Going Away PArty

Me Serving the freshly cooked fish for my going away party....
Jill Kelly and DionJill Kelly and Dion
Jill Kelly and Dion

The Irish Girls
Me and MatteoMe and Matteo
Me and Matteo

Irish Pride meetsa Texas Pride


3rd June 2008

going away party
you are having a geat time i can see . the diving sounds fun. a great experance i bet . we can hardly wait to see you and the rest of the pic . love DAD
3rd June 2008

Have a safe trip home!
Trey-- I cannot wait to see all of your pictures and hear the stories of your adventures in Guatemala! Be safe and have an uneventful trip home. Cheers, Jonathan
3rd June 2008

Welcome back
Trey, i am so happy for your experience and have a save trip back. nos vemos amigo!, KG
5th September 2008

Buenos Tiempos Amigo!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb