Ahhh My 8 Days Off is HERE!


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

VolunteersVolunteersVolunteers

Here are all of us during our going away BBQ...I cooked the BBQ and it was great!
Vale...Okay

So I left the orphanage yesterday and was going to take the bus to Poptun, where I would stay at Finca Ixobel, but after seeing the bus and how full it is, I decided to hitchhike.... But no one was going that far on a Sunday so I took the bus today. It was hot, full and fast but it wasnt to bad. It took about 2 hours, and for anyone reading this blog you'll want the bus to drop you off on the outside of Poptun, not inside the city itself, otherwise you'll have to pay for a ride back to the Hostel-Hotel.

So I'm helping with physical education now and still working on the computers, you learn so much spanish when you are with the kids all day. I've met a number of fun and interesting people not from the US, which seems the norm so far. I have made some really good friends I think, at least 2 that I'm certain to see after this trip is complete.

So I'm here at the hostel and there were some hot chicas here eating and I got my picture with them, some kisses to. They are
ClassesClassesClasses

Here is our Computer class over the water...
going to this big parade contest for Miss Potpun beauty contest. I swam in this lagoon here that changes temperatures as you swim across it, I assume it's a cold water spring fed lagoon.

What I'm learning...

I'm learning to trust people, I thknk it's a US thing to be so cautious and skeptical of people because I meet all these individuals from other countries who are so giving and open, and the locals here are so kind and hospitable. Back home we don't say hello and good afternoon to everyone, sometimes we see someone we know but don't make it a point to say hi, because we're afraid it might take up to much of our time when we are in a hurry. Henry, who is from the States, hitch'hiked all the way across the US and then bought a bicycle and rode it through Mexico until he got to Guatemala and all he found in the states and mexico was friendly hospitable people.

I'm learning what matters to me, what should be improtant and what I want to get out of life. I'm realizing how thankful I need to be for what I have, the
Mike and JessMike and JessMike and Jess

These two are from Canada and Australia
opportunities and such. I've learned that I barely even noticed the adjustment too, no TV, Radio, Hot Water, Air conditioning, TV, Fresh water, Accessible Internet, Hospitals, TV, Cold Milk, Hell' Cold ANYTHING!

There are so many things I want to do when I get home... I've decided my new moto for life at this point is''

Live a Lifetime Every Year....

I want to experience a lifetimes worth of experiences each year. That means doing something, anything, outside my comfort zone, or learning a new skill or hobby. I don{t want to look back on life and say I didn't do the things I wanted to do, that my life was not as full as I could have made it... I don't want to be the old man who says to the young gun, do everything you want, take risks, enjoy life, dance more, kiss more, pray more, look at the stars more, relax when you need to, enjoy your friends, spend time with your family and chase the dreams you have... because I didn't and now it's too late.

Anyway that's that... Enjoy the pictures!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Dining HallDining Hall
Dining Hall

Here they are, the Ninos Piquenios
BeautyBeauty
Beauty

Overlooking our swimming hole at the orphanage
Me and HenryMe and Henry
Me and Henry

He's one cool cat,,,


7th April 2008

Henry
OMG!! Henry remind me the guy from Scooby do...
8th April 2008

Enjoy your days off!
Trey: thanks for sharing all the pictures and your journey.... we love it - I share it with Grammy and she sends her best... please be careful! looks like you've met many new friends (adults and children!) keep us posted..... BE SAFE! love, aunt b.
8th April 2008

hi
Sounds like things are good.... enjoy your days off! Call me soon- I have some details for your possible stay in Fl. Jessi had baby boy, Lars on fri.! Love you!
22nd April 2008

SO ENJOYED HEARING FROM YOU AS USUAL. ALL TURNED OUT GOOD! WILL FILL YOU IN ON DETAILS NEXT TIME WE TALK. LOVED THE PICS AND LOVE YOU LOTS! MOM
11th May 2008

no tv you say?
i love how you wrote no tv like 4 times. lol. thats a great motto to live by also.. it looks like you have had a really great experience so far. but i figured as hot as it is down there you woulda kept the shaved head? is it cuz it takes to much time to do it? that pic of you guys around the dinner table seems like it was a lotta fun. does that happen like.. every sunday? or was that just a special party? heres hoping more life affirming and life changing experiences in your next 2 months!!! cant wait til you get back and tell us all the stories!
12th May 2008

HEY TREY!
great to catch up to you on your blog, your pics are good and I liked the video at the market, it looked like someone at the end made you put the camera down - what was that about? Did the locals that were napped get released, we need an update! I assume you have stats on all the pageant participants, they are really decked out for the competition. Keep up the good works and know that my BSF group has you on our prayer list and are keeping up with your activities by this blog. Hug all the kids. UK
15th May 2008

Hey!!
Thanks so much for the support! The hostages Im unsure of but the camera thing was my deal... I was new to the area and wasnt sure how everyone would react to my filming them so I turned it off. BUt I have many more left!
15th May 2008

Thanks dude...
Yeah it is too hot for hair down here but I just let it go for some reason...you know me. We actually get out every wednesday and saturday for a night on the town, if you can call it that. Hey, thanks for the email and Ill be sure to come by when I return!
17th May 2008

hey hey!!
Hey Trey, you look so happy over there!! I can't wait to hear your spanish!! Have a safe trip! God bless!!
23rd May 2008

Trey, I really enjoyed your blog. Hope you keep it up. I am glad to see you are really living the dream! Oh BTW, Account Services is getting closed July 3rd. Dream on and be safe kemosabe!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb