Preconseptions


Advertisement
Published: December 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

muey bonitamuey bonitamuey bonita

getting to know my macro
this wekend we drove to this litttle surf town called el zonte on the west coast of el savador and OH MY GOD...i had no preconseptions of what the country had to offer since i really new nothing about it..and therefor thought it was dangerous...well all of latin america can be dangerous but then so can commercial drive!

the community was solid there, and we were escourted by denny himself from dennys beach(the resort here) oh ya we are back now..its only a four hour drive.so going with denny was spectacular because we entered there with a level of respect. I felt connected right off the bat..everyone was so open !

when we got there saturday night they just happened to be having the biggest beach parties of the summer(its there summer right now..kids are even on summer vacation ) so iona and i partied(sober) there were four groups that played; hiphop, thrash metal , reggea then ska..it was really well rounded but my favorite was the ska...they were the best group, i think they headlined and they played last. then after everyone(hundreds of people) moved to the beach where there was a huge bonfire and firedancers and a
pupuseriapupuseriapupuseria

the national food, pupusas..yummy
crazy drumgroup that went off..it was really tribal..it was amazing..majic!! then we went to bed.. next day we hung out on the beach and cruised around later i went of for dinner with some local kids, they took me for pupusas..the national food its like a pizza pocket but made with corn and beans and cheese and is made from scratch on the spot..later that night ended up being a recker! i got invited to play rum ping pong..dangerous. basicly it was ping pong with a glass of cuba libre(rum and coke) the rules were if the person hits the other persons glass you had to chupa(take a chug, chupe is the verbe for suck it) if you hit your own glass you took two chupas then if you got the ball in the other persons glass they had to chug the entire glass..it got messy with probably 25 people playing into the night...i really got drunk than everyone started pushing each other into the pool i got hurt..someone pushed me and i wasn't ready(and drunk) i hit my head.i got a gouge right above my eyebrow it will probably scar..its still swollen...but i am ok ..but it didnt..and since they are all surfers they had a really good first aid kit on hand and gave me a butterfly stitch and cleaned it up amediatly..all in all it was crazy but fun..the next two days were spent on the beach!! now tomorrow we are going to the worlds only hotspring waterfall then tikal.

i had some great conversations about surfing and it made me want to snowboard..iam really looking forward to coming home..i definetly feel like my trip is winding down..and it made me want to do the drive from canada south even more.. the longer i am here the more easily i see it...it is actually quite safe to drive in these countries..just not at night..and the main reason for that is because some cars don't have headlights and semmy trucks don't have tail lights!

all in all i have had an amazing trip and it is really making me appreciate the idea of home..and i know i will have to get probably two jobs! i have come to terms with it..action and reaction..i have played hard, now it is time to buckle down again..while still making enough time to ride of course!!!!

dad i
sunset footballsunset footballsunset football

El Zonte, El Salvador
have been eating lots of seafood, but i will not be eating gibnip anytime soon if ever!
as well i have been doing my best to eat what the locals eat, pupusas for example.
and kyla hope these photos satisfy you!!

DD



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

esencia nativaesencia nativa
esencia nativa

this is the place to be if spending time in El Zonte..
stunnedstunned
stunned

I fell down, El Salvador
La SolLa Sol
La Sol

El Zonte, El Salvador
AMIGASAMIGAS
AMIGAS

TOGETHER AGAIN, EL SALVADOR
tipico salvidorianotipico salvidoriano
tipico salvidoriano

this is what el salvadorions eat for breakfast..most days. its good!
footsiesfootsies
footsies

we were playing some game, kinda like ini mini miny mo...but is spanish


14th December 2006

I love it
hey girl. you are making want to travel so much with all those wonderful, gorgeous pictures. i keep getting butterflies when i think about all the incredable adventures i had in south america last year. i am getting so stoked for my sister and the girls they are going to see and experience so much in the four months that they will be travelling in central america. you are going to have to tell her all the good places to go in el salvador and all the other sweet places that you have visited. i am so sikked to see you Dove darlin and hear about all the other stories and all the details of your adventures. i got a yoga pass this month and i my body feels so great. you are going to have to come to a few classes with me when you get back. dove you should seriously surf a big smooth crystal wave (grande ola)for me girl, U know how how passionate i am about surfing. i have my final english exam today so i should probably start studying, but i love your picts and your emails soooo... much, that i am constantly checking my email. thanks, muchas gracies!!! Love always your friend/sista Taiowa. p.s. say hi to Iona and Damien for me por favor. i just received another $3 000 busary from the government for college yesterday, so i am pretty dam stoked. i don't think i am going to have to get in debt at all for the government is going to sent my grants and bursaries every year that i am in college/university for my family is low income. is'nt that sweet!
14th December 2006

hi DD!
Yay! I am so satisfied with the latest photos! I'm here at mom's place right now so we thought we'd write you together. Me first. I am sooo happy to hear you are having such a great time partying your ass off whether it involves booze or not. I'm glad to hear your friends had a good first aid kit to help with your head thump and that you didn't dround in the pool. My perspective on your night was somewhat different to mom's, I was chearing and laughing because you are 21 and traveling and it wouldn't be complete if your adventures didn't involve stories like this so I am very happy for you that you are living it up because lots of time goes by between traveling experiences and you'll have to get to work when you get home you mentioned. Two jobs maybe? Cam and I got an invitation to a friends wedding in Mexico for february [ I think ] so if things work out we will take that oppertunity to take a little vacate. I have hit the point in my pregnancy where baby can come any time now healthily which of course is a great thing however, the down side to that is I'm frustrated cause i'm tired of being pregnant and want my body back. I'm not going to burden anyone with my discomfort but it's in there big time. I am having fun living vicariously through you. Mom wanted me to write her part for her in her words of course. She sends her love and looks forward to seeing you again. She loves your pictures and had lots to say about your drunken fall but I reminded her that you're a grown up and can live however you want and you have a good head on your shoulders, bruised but good lol. I love you and thanks again for your update. sista ky

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb