Still leaving on a jet plane to Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Part 2 - after all it's a long journey with a lovely 6 hour layover in my fav airport:-)



Back to the airport albeit briefly; still in Edmonton and I had purchased a new TSA lock as mine had died that morning. What I didn’t realize was the instructions were not on the cute little booklet that came with the lock (how silly of me to assume) but were on the original packaging. This cute elder couple saw me and quickly figured out my dilemma and started giggling with me. So true to Ned’s nature, I went back to the container that was fortunately recycling and praying that other people respected the same, stuck my arm inside and dug round for my instructions. I came up gleefully to the giggles of a few people, but i now had a lock that worked!!

Wandered around my old stomping grounds, and figured out that Larry’s plane was coming in to Terminal B, which I realized I had never been to before, Who knew! But the cool thing was I got to ride the train - yipee!!! So after wandering C and E to every duty free, every store (I’d been in a zillion times before thanks to the usual 5 hour layovers in IAH) I wandered over to B. Sadly disappointed; the train was the best part! After covering from one end to the other; I sat down and caught up on a few emails and waited for Larry’s plane. I went to the gate about 15 minutes prior to landing, they had changed the landing time and (I thought) the gate. Back to “C”. So I ran as fast as my wee legs would carry me, back up the stairs, to the train, down the stairs, through terminal “C” to the very end and couldn’t find him. Nope. so I waited, again. And watched the arrivals board as it slowly, oh so slowly cycled through the cities, and then again it showed his plane as landing at “B”. Then I realized there were 2 identical planes coming from IAD and landing within 4 minutes of each other; one in “C” and one in “B”. Sigh. So back through “C” I went, back up the stairs, back to the train, down the stairs, all the way through “B” and caught him just as he had given up hope I would ever show up. Panting, disheveled and slightly sweaty I was the (late) welcoming committee:-)

Flight to GUA was uneventful; (the perfect kind) our driver was there and away we went to Antigua city. Found our hotel which was quaint and asked our driver what time we were getting picked up for the volcano hike; and he said 07:50. OK, sleep time. It never ceases to amaze me how traveling is so exhausting. Sleep, blissful sleep. No jet lag thankfully, but still a long day of traveling and sitting, (and perhaps Starbucks!) other than my aerobic activity of terminal hopping….

Advertisement



Tot: 0.387s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 17; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb