From my Journal-First Full Day in Guatemala.


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

January 5th





The title says it all, right? I confess that occasionally I feel so overwhelmed by what has happened in the course of a day or two that I don't know where to start writing. Today felt like an initiation day. I met all of the teachers and cooks: Maribel (secretary and my co-teacher for the first couple of months), Cristy (the director of the school), Carina (cook), Silvia (cook), Carolina (1st grade), Blanca (2nd), Wendy (3rd and Kaqchikel teacher, which is a Mayan language), Daniel (4th), Walter (5th). I was feeling slightly timid, but the language barrier obviously was making it difficult for me to be out-spoken. I understand about 75%!o(MISSING)f conversation, the little connecting words to bigger nouns and adjectives are what I don't always catch. However, I'm still getting context when I pay attention. That's where the struggle in responding lies. I either lose focus or I'm listening so intently I forget to think of a reply. Sometimes I just don't have enough time to think or I just plain lose confidence. Tomorrow I'll have no choice, Maribel will be the only one understanding my English and even then she knows the same amount of English that I know of Spanish. I'm not nervous though, I'm excited.
Today, mom and I walked to Merari and Lucky's to visit and talk. Lucky asked me if I had any expectations, goals, and what I wanted to gain from this experience. Articulation has not been my strong-suit lately, I've been tripping over my words left and right (even when I'm speaking English). So, with the struggle under the surface I answered that I wanted to view this as a learning experience. I was drawn to the opportunity because I love adventure. My expectations are to learn Spanish, to be helpful, to be needed, and to learn more about teaching. When she asked about goals I realized that goals aren't really my focus in this situation, it's never been about "what will I get from this". I'm doing this because I knew in my gut that this was where my path was taking me, I know I will -of course- gain things from this experience, but I don't have any expectations. Only an open heart and mind.
I didn't run or practice Spanish today like I plan to do everyday, but I did unpack. This brought to light my shirt addiction I didn't know I had. I'm planning to give a lot of them away. After I finished unpacking I showered, then Patricia, mom, and I went to San Martin for dinner. Right before we left they played Venus As A Boy by Bjork over the radio. My heart sighed with utter bliss as I took in the good omen. On that happy note, it's time for sleep. I have to be at the gate tomorrow morning at 6:30! Buenas Noches!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb