Climbing Volcan de Pacaya!


Advertisement
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: flowing lava at Volcan de Pacaya 15 secs
Today is the day to climb Volcan de Pacaya! Most of us opted to go in the afternoon because we wanted to see flowing lava contrasting the dark sky. I had the morning to walk round Antigua and I went back to see the lactating fountain at the main square. There is a sizeable traditional market here and an artisan market next to it. Things here are definitely more expensive than Panajachel and Santiago Atitlan. I had to change some more money and every bank had security guards, many heavily armed. Even at the gas station en route to Volcano Pacaya there was a guard with a shotgun.

Three of us went for a local massage before the hike. We all went for the total body massage; it was inexpensive at 85Qtz for 45mins, but I didn’t like the greasy feeling after we were done, even after repeated showers. There was another option called Colonical, but it’s really a colon hydrotherapy or an enema. No, thank you! If you really wanted one I can give one to you for free!

Before leaving for the climb, we found out that our German friend proposed to his long-time girlfriend on the volcano and she said yes. I am sure they would remember this occasion forever!

It was about one and half hour drive to Volcano Pacaya from Antigua, passing by Guatemala City. Kids at the entrance were eager to sell climbers walking sticks for 3-5 Qtz; it was a good thing I got one as I would find out shortly. The map said 2.8km to the volcano, but I think it was a much shorter distance to the flowing lava that has cut off the trail.

After we cleared the tree lines, it was obvious why a walking stick would come in handy. In the exposed area with volcanic rocks it was extremely windy and treacherous and it definitely helped to have a stick to balance oneself. Highlights of the climb included running down this steep side of a hill covered with fine volcanic rocks (sort of like running in sand) and getting up close and personal to the flowing lava. It was an awesome feeling to have cold wind blowing on one side of my face and experiencing the heat from the lava on the other. A climb like this would never have been allowed in Canada for
AntiguaAntiguaAntigua

lactating fountain
obvious safety reasons. Heck, we didn’t even have to sign a waiver here. Hiking down was just as adventurous because it was in near complete darkness. I was so glad that I brought my head lamp. At the bottom of the hill the same kids would say “stick for me ?” as they wanted their sticks back to sell to the next group of climbers. I jokingly said “5 Qtz” but no one wanted to pay me for the stick. Some of them even wanted to trade my head lamp for sticks! T & M were nice enough to offer me a tasty jamon y queso sandwich on the way back to Antigua. It’s another early rise to go to Flores tomorrow so we all went to bed early.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb