Arrival in Guatemala City


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dos LunasDos LunasDos Lunas

Dining on pizza and soda. No cups.
Hola friends and family. We have arrived safely. Our travel went smoothly, besides Wendy spraying blueberry yogurt over her shirt and face on the plane and me spilling salsa on my shoes and backpack.

My first spoken Spanish words have been very simple, but I have been able to understand what people are asking me, in general. "Hola," "gracias," and "si" have been my words of choice! Body language gets you far and people have been very nice.

Upon arrival, Wendy and I made an immediate stop at the banos (bathrooms). Then we exchanged money and walked outside to find our driver. Immediately, I noticed that we were obviously the minority in this country, but people didn't stare too hard at us. Victor, a driver from our hotel, picked us up from the airport in Guatemala City and took us to our hotel, Dos Lunas. Dos Lunas is an excellent choice if you are looking for an affordable stay that is simple, clean, and friendly. The woman working that desk speaks English and helped us order dinner in (Dominoes: not too adventurous yet) and also called the airline to ask about luggage allowance and weight for our flight into
Dos LunasDos LunasDos Lunas

Wendy sending her parents an email. She is such a good daughter.
Flores tomorrow. Overall, I am impressed and feel very safe.

I am very excited and can't wait to share more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Dos Lunas Dos Lunas
Dos Lunas

Our hotel room after we attempted to take a nap amid barking dogs and airplanes flying overhead. My bed is made.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb