Damn those Iberian airways!


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

AntiguaAntiguaAntigua

A picture from outside the ruins of the old cathedral near the Plaza Mayor. Inside the ruins, in the disused dungeon, is where the guide famously tried to rip me off- but I just laughed and sent him on his way with a fair price for his services.

Remember I mentioned in the first entry that I didn't want to travel with Iberian airlines again? Well, it came back to haunt me (with a vengeance). The first flight was fine from London to Madrid.

Now, on the second from Madrid to Guatemala I managed to get a great seat with stacks of legroom near the exit. It was about 2 hours into the flight, I had my legs stretched out, shoes off and totally relaxed and chuffed with myself for bagging such a great seat with no-one sat next to me. They had just served the meal and I was busy tucking into it. A hostess started to come around with the drinks trolley (you know the ones, the big heavy metal lumps that hurt when they bang into your arm or ankle), and for a second she let go of it right in front of me. As she did this, being sod's law, the thing toppled sideways and landed right on my bare feet with a mighty crash!! To say it hurt is an understatement of gross proportions. To make matters horrendous, my tray of food, water and beer landed on my lap and on my chest, the vast majority of the contents of the trolley landed on my legs............ talk about humiliation from being the daddy just a few seconds earlier!!

Luckily, or maybe miraculously, it didn't break any bones and only gave me some bruising. They then moved me to a row with three seats empty - so I stretched out and had a great sleep for most of the flight afterwards - so it worked fine in the end!! As long as I get quality sleep on an airplane I am happy. Having said that, if they'd broken my feet I would've certainly nailed them to the fking wall. But I am British and I just want the quiet life.


Regardless of all this Iberian bullshit, I am now in Guatemala in a town called Antigua. It is a cool, mellow and humid town with lots of young Latinos with pumping sound systems in their cars, cobbled streets and gringos wearing sandals. I watched the Liverpool versus AC Milan game today and all I can say is 'wow'! (in an English bar - would you bloody believe it?!?!?)

Heading off to Xela friday morning with my bruised feet to study Spanish for a couple of weeks.

Speak soon.

Jamie

Advertisement



10th November 2008

Stop complaining. It's an accident for heavens sake. And why would you go all the way to Antigua to watch a bloody soccer match - fails me!
26th December 2008

'Anonymous'? Obviously.
Mr anonymous, have ever you flown with Iberia? They´re known on a world scale for their bad attitude, incredible incompetence and poor, poor customer relations and service... And did I go all the way to Antigua to watch a 'soccer' match? You are joking, aren't you? Read the rest of the blogs ... fails me too. I try to look at these places and experiences objectively - I don't trick myself and my consciouness into believing it's all great and 'awsome' and the culture, music, food and people are all fantastic just because I've paid a hefty sum of money to be there. That would be completely irrational. If things are not what you expect, why not say so?
14th March 2009

Crap service from iberian airways
Flight cancellation 9th of January 2009, Snow at Madrid we know Iberian airways are not to blame for the weather however they are legally responsible for the passengers, I was told at 5-15pm that the desk would close there was still hundreds of people in a cue we had been stood in for 3-30minutes, we were given no information and no assistance which they are entitled to by law, now the thieving scum bags are refusing to give back the money for the flight, saying we should have gone to the desk which we were told by a badge wearing iberian staff member was closing, the worst airlines I have the displeasure to fly with
13th May 2009

I'm just about to fly with Iberian tomorrow, going from London to Madrid, then Madrid to Quito. This article has made me slightly worried. I'm going to try to get a guitar on board as my hand luggage. Although it's small, I think it's 5 cm over the height limit. Hopefully they won't try to charge me the £35 fee. It would be a disappointing way to start.

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb