A quick look at Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: March 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

After last years successful crewing experience in the Caribbean, I thought I would try it again this winter. From one of the crew locating websites out there I found a sailing instructor who was delivering his own boat from San Diego to Rhode Island. The original plan was a two week section from Costa Rica to the Panama Canal, but as the date approached they were running behind, so I could catch the same dates joining in Guatemala and making it as far as two weeks took us. I knew the boat was stopping in Puerto Quetzel to change crew, so off I went.

I landed in Guatemala City. The boat wasn't leaving until the next day, so I figured I'd try to see a little of the country as a tourist for the day. I had read that there was transportation to/from the port to Antigua for cruise ship tours so I figure I'd try that for a night. There was a shuttle from the airport, so off I went. I got out where some native Spanish speakers did at a hostel. Theirs was full, but across the street there were a half dozen more. I found a quiet one with a private room for $15USD a few blocks from the center of town. It is a beautiful rebuilt colonial city. with cobblestone streets, stone archways and great food. There was a community band playing at the main square. I'd certainly return again. Where were plenty of expat pensioners there too living out there golden years.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb