volcan fuego


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

From the rooftop in antigua Casa Cristina of which you have seen pictures, you can see 3 volcanoes. These. The one justly named 'Fuego' erupted about 3 months ago, killing 1 reporter. View the eruption here.
I knew a couple days ago I would get to see no lava. This greatly upset me. I wanted to stand next to lava river and burn up my walking stick like others have. Because of the eruption and the destruction caused, there was not a drop of lava to be seen, but instead there was the awesome results of the havoc. What used to be jungle is now sparse toothpick trees. What used to be dirt in cities surrounding the volcano is now all black ash stacked up high. What used to be a green jungle camping zone near the top with snakes aplenty is now a black lunar landscape with smoking holes and for some strange reason just lots of butterflies. I got some great video of the volcano area but videos don't work real well on this site, so you'll just have to ask me for dropbox access.

Brad and Maddy arrived on Thursday. They are staying at the Black Cat Inn in the dorms. I should have reserved a room there when I had a chance, but my place turned out OK with better internet. Monday Lindz and I will stay there in one of the Gato Negro rooms before we all head off to Lago Atitlan on Tuesday. I am really pumped about all the cool lakeside traditional mayan cities to visit around the lake.

Our plan originally was to camp Tuesday night at the top of a 6 mile hike to the top of Volcano Agua, but several tour guides told us it was the primary home of Banditos con pistolas. And nicely suggest we hike the lesser Bandito getaway, Acatenango volcan. We're just gonna see how Lago Atitlan is and play the rest by ear. Lago also has plenty of good volcans and hikes.

I asked Maddy and Brad if they had anything to say for the blog, and Maddy just blurted out 'Where da Gold at?. Watch the video at that link if you haven't seen it yet. Yes, we might have spent some idle time today in cafes looking up weird things to distract me from work.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Volcan CraterVolcan Crater
Volcan Crater

and burnt trees and the crew.
Old campsiteOld campsite
Old campsite

3 months ago I would not have been able to see this campsite through all the trees.
11,000 feet11,000 feet
11,000 feet

The other 2 volcans start at the left edge of this photo.
WashoutWashout
Washout

Reminds me of Vail's back bowls, just a different color.
Gnarly TreesGnarly Trees
Gnarly Trees

Only the strongest survived
Close Encounters of the 3rd KindClose Encounters of the 3rd Kind
Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind

Why were 2 truckloads of geared up soldiers passing us on our way out - headed up to the top of the volcano?
Little KoreaLittle Korea
Little Korea

This spot was the cool Korean presence in town - ironically the first meat i've eaten so far that didn't taste funky.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb