Muy bien con el espanol


Advertisement
Published: August 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Gym AntiguaGym AntiguaGym Antigua

The mural is painted by some English dude who makes a killing painting murals all over town.
Some Australian dude couldn’t speak any Spanish and the maid and bellhop were all the people around at 7pm, so they asked ME - yes, ME, to be the translator. And I actually succeeded. I still am at a sucky 200 words or so but that was bueno.

Jose was a funny hotel aide. I’ll miss him. He was very nice. I gave him 2 of my Gringo T shirts that we got at Goodwill before coming here. He picked the Rockies NLCS shirt, and the Rodeo shirt.

I just moved to a new “hotel”. Much closer to the heart of the city (that is…. 2 blocks closer). Relatively it all seems different. I’m now directly in the middle of a bunch of cafes and restaurants. Cafes with rooftops where I can work and sip tea. It also has a large desk and a small interior garden with good internet. The owner, Senor Rios, speaks very good English but is intent on teaching me as much proper Spanish as possible - that I thank him for.

Yesterday my jeans got fixed by an 90 year old man. Jose told me to just knock on the unmarked yellow door
The richiesThe richiesThe richies

Behind the young mule driver is one of the richie rich walled houses, an entire block big, keeping all the trash out.
28. He patched up all the holes and tears for $3. I hope he can fix my big travel backpack tomorrow or there will be lots of duct tape fun.

I’m now a member of Gym Antigua. A converted courtyard with the central fountain still in place. Very cool looking place for a gym. Supposedly there are a few other smaller gyms in town but this one by far has the most equipment. And by far the best mural in any gym I’ve ever been in. It is $15 / week, and $1/ week for a locker rental. I splurged.

The weirdest thing I’ve been noticing as I walk around the city is when you come upon blocks or half blocks of high walls with no markings or entrances, often with barriers at the top such as bushes or barbed wire. This is where the ‘upper class’ lives. They live in their little secluded blocks with a garden and guest and guard quarters. They then drive in tinted window cars with their chauffeurs out to the country, to the airport, or to other secluded barred homes. The middle class doesn’t like them. Until they come into their restaurants.
Sunday in AntiguaSunday in AntiguaSunday in Antigua

A special Holiday Sunday. Lots of events and parties. People from all over up to 4 hours away.


More of the same tomorrow. Cafe, errands, gym, cafe, sleep. I'm practically a local.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

JoseJose
Jose

Nice dude. Very helpful making sure I was super happy at Casa Cristina.
Comida TipicaComida Tipica
Comida Tipica

No menu. I was given 2 choices - breakfast or lunch (lunch I could choose pork or beef). $4.25 and I was entertained by some bell/pipe hitting musician.
View from my new officeView from my new office
View from my new office

Los Golondrinas Apartments - Albergue Andinista. Sr Daniel Ramirez Rios.
MovingMoving
Moving

Got some work to do.


3rd August 2010

I like the pic of your room. Some things never change. Looks like a pretty cool set-up. Glad you are learning more espanol. The food makes me hungry. How come no pics of the churches yet?
3rd August 2010

No Hippies
No alcohol consumers. I wouldn't stay at that joint. I would shower, but man, no booze.
3rd August 2010

not cool
they don't allow hippies. something tells me that menu is from '69.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb