Into Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A bus...A bus...A bus...

one of 100000 we passed on way out of Guat City to Antigua
Flying into Guat city, is was more beautiful than i thought. Lots of greenery. I like greenery.
Cab ride was fun, dodged lots and lots of buses. Lots of black exhaust spewing buses.
Antigua is incredible. I love the architecture and the hustle/bustle, and the beautiful mountainous greenery every direction you look. Add the surrounding 3 volcanoes - Agua, Acatenango, and Fuego (which recently erupted and killed some people as you might have seen on the news). The streets are alive with people going every direction, and every block is endless restaurants, bars, and shops with lots of cool cheap stuff. I know its just my first day so I'll try to keep the feelings of awesomeness in perspective, I'm sure it will wear off but I've met several people so far who came for a short trip and now are at 1 year. I feel like I've used all 200 spanish words I know twice over. Lindz should be arriving in La Ceiba about now.... she'll join here in a week. Hotel has wireless, but it doesn't reach to my room. Working in the lobby now, will hit a string of coffee shops tomorrow. Rough job.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

La MercedLa Merced
La Merced

Draws lots of tourists, need to read more about it.
My RoomMy Room
My Room

Casa Cristina. Real nice place, nice people, nice hot water in shower.
View from roomView from room
View from room

This is la merced again. Other side of roof looks at the volcano. Nice.
San AgustinSan Agustin
San Agustin

One of about 8 beautiful church ruins I stumbled upon in only a 20 block walk. (Antigua is only about 8x8 blocks)
Volcano and San FranciscoVolcano and San Francisco
Volcano and San Francisco

Beautiful rooftop bar with views in all directions including of this rad old church - Church San Francisco. Also one of the 3 volcanos you look upon from the city.
Sky BarSky Bar
Sky Bar

Dave told me to go here. Rad rooftop bar with great views.


30th July 2010

Rad
Ryana - glad you are safe. I love the pics. Too cool that you can look out and see a volcano! Looks like you are surrounded by churches. I'm sure you'll be attending daily Mass while you are there. Be sure to light a candle for me in each church you go in. You'll be a busy boy between all those churches and your work - and a beer or two. Enjoy the time alone. I would LOVE a little of that about now. Love you. Mom
30th July 2010

So excited for your trip and can't wait for more updates! Make sure you hike around the volcanos - Dave loved that.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb