Kites and Graves on All Saints Day!


Advertisement
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

MAHOOSIVE kites!MAHOOSIVE kites!MAHOOSIVE kites!

These ones don´t fly, they are just for decoration.
After a few relaxing days by the lake I returned to Antigua for the celebrations that they hold in a nearby town on November the 1st (All Saints Day).

Traditionally, Guatemalan people go to graveyards and fly kites so that the spirits know how to find their way back to their bodies and their family, and to also ward off evil spirits.

So today I ventured to a town called Santiago Sacatepequez to see this annual occurance. It was really good- the kites are all homemade out of tissue paper and some of them are absolutely massive!!! The really big ones are just for decoration, but there are ones that are 3m wide which need about 7 men to get them in the air! When I first got there I was watching one nearby which started to get closer and closer, then before I knew it it was headed for me and actually landed on me! It was so funny! Luckily it was a tissue paper bit that my head hit and not the wood, or it would have been a bit painful I´m sure!

The weirdest thing was that it was all in a graveyard so people
Me with my mini kiteMe with my mini kiteMe with my mini kite

When I did my laundry yesterday they gave it to me free!
were just running over the graves, sitting on them and generally having a bit of a party!

Unfortunately I forgot to sing “Let´s go Fly a Kite” in a Mary Poppins stylee!

It was a really good (although slightly random!) day!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

He-Man on a kite!He-Man on a kite!
He-Man on a kite!

I haven´t seen him anywhere for a decade or so!
A nice family day outA nice family day out
A nice family day out

sitting on graves, eating ice lollies!


4th November 2007

A suitable activity for a young lady.
Even we can't worry about this one!........Can we???
5th November 2007

graves and things!
Well soph, lovely kites, nice day out and all that but for me it.s all about location, location, location! XX

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb