Surf, Parties an Pupusas at El Salvador!


Advertisement
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Welcome El Salvador!Welcome El Salvador!Welcome El Salvador!

Border crossing!
Woooow! What a surprise! What was El Salvador? AMAZING! If you're in Central America and are planning to skip El Salvador 'cause it's dangerous, please, change your mind. El Salvador was a really nice country with the most friendly local people so far! Everybody helped us as we needed, not like in Guatemala where everybody try to "help" you and then charge you some money! And apart the friendly people, the country's touristic spots are really nice!

Our trip (still me, Philip and John) was a little bit short in the country, but we enjoyed as well. The trip from Monterrico (Guatemala) to our first stop, Playa El Tunco was quite exhausting, one boat, 2 chickenbuses to the Guatemalan/El Salvadorian border, cross the border walking, one more chickenbus to Sonsonate, sleep in Sonsontate (we didn't want to, but we arrived there at 7 pm), another chickenbus to Desvio de La Perla, from there the last chickenbus to, uuff, El Tunco. When we arrived there the weather was not that good, cloudy, raining a little bit, but the next days there were amazing! We spent 4 days in El Tunco surfing HUUUUGE waves, from 6 to 10 ft! Actually I couldn't
Pupusa's TimePupusa's TimePupusa's Time

Eating some pupusas at a bus station
surf there, I'm not that good surfer but I enjoyed the same if I had surfed that massive "tsunamis". From there we went to San Salvador to enjoy a weekend on the nightlife there, wich is INSANE, I had a crazy nice time there and I got the strong hungover of my life! From there Phillip and John decided to go to a lake in the north and I prefered to go back to the beach, and was what we did, I spent couple of days on the beach having more consistant surf, getting some waves, forgetting the frustation of the week before wich i got no waves and eating Pupusas, the local meal here, is like a tortilla sandwich with cheese and beans. Yum!

After those days there the weather got really bad, raining, cloudy, a little cold, so we decided to skip the lake and go straigth to the next target: Honduras


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Little monkey at Papaya's LodgeLittle monkey at Papaya's Lodge
Little monkey at Papaya's Lodge

This bastard stole my avocado!


5th May 2009

Have to agree, El Salvador isn't dangerous
I just went down to el salvador and had a great time, nothing got stollen like in Costa Rica. I went down with Stray Bullet Surf Tours. I wish your page had more pictures of waves though.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb