el salvador...


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

i've heard about black beaches but have never seen. the beaches in libertad, el salvador are black because of the volcanic ash. they are black and rocky. and the ocean current is so strong. when the waves roll back into the water, they move the rocks around. and as the rocks tumble, they make an amazing sound. it was neat to hear. our rooms were right on the beach so we were lulled to sleep by the ocean and the sound of the rocks tumbling around.

i went for a swim in the ocean and the strong currents made it an adventure. when you dove into the approaching wave, you were tumbled around like a doll. i would just hold my nose and go for the ride.

i am back in antigua now and am trying to decide what to do next. i only have 5 more weeks left and still a lot of places that i want to see. but i think i will stay here for another week and study some more. i want to do a week of pure conversation. my brain now contains a great amount of words and my knowledge of the grammar is pretty good. but i need more practice on putting these things together in conversation. so after i type this message i am going to look at spanish schools and see if i can find what i am looking for.

i am attaching some pics from el salvador. hope you enjoy.

lots of love,
sue

UPDATE: I decided to stay in antigua for a week and study some more. Classes started this afternoon. My new teacher is great. I told her that I wanted to focus on phonetics and practice practice practice...without deliberatly learning more grammar. She is really organized and professional and great at reinforcing my confidence. I am looking forward to studying with her. I moved in with a family today and the new house is great. Very different from the one I lived at in San Pedro but equally as wonderful. The house mom is a cute older woman...she is so sweet and talks to me a lot. Her grandson also lives in the house. He is about 15 years old.

Rachel: You SOOOOOOOOO crazy!!! Your comments crack me up. mua-mua!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



7th August 2006

I like your odds...
Who are the dudes??
8th August 2006

cool pics sue! i know how you felt under the water in the ocean. me and nat were doing the same thing some of the days at the beach! mommy got her glasses knocked off but i saved them! mommy says that sobrina does look a lot like natalie. what, don't you want to lick chocolate off my chin ?? haha natalie is at a sleepover but she'll read your blog tomorrow. i read about max in mara's message and we keep trying to talk mommy and daddy into getting a dog. i think i might be getting somewhere with it. keep your fingers crossed! love you sue, nick
9th August 2006

not much to say
we had our borders' babes meeting last night -- and you were the talk of the town! Sure wish you'd been with us! We had a good time -- just Jenn, Marci and I -- so we met at the Wilmington Borders, rather than springfield -- but wish you could have been with us -- or that we were with you!!!! Love ya lots!
11th August 2006

Those feet must belong to a goddess!!!!!!!!!
Wow, I never thought I would actually get to talk about those feet again. You must remember way back when fruit stretchies were in and Sue Persia(size ?10?) wore sandals that showed how beautiful those long slender things could look. Oh yeah, "goddess feet" and yet they still look as gorgeous as the day the man on the el told you so. Please tell me you remeber this because I have to admit that was one of the bestest times we ever had even though we should've been in school. But if we were in school how would that bird poop on my nose and give me good luck? LOL cracking up so hard, I think I might have to go potty. Ok, really now you sound like your having a good time even if you are getting robbed while you're there. I'm sure he needed that stuff more than you guys did. I hope your passport wasn't in that backpack. It would suck to go through that process all over again. Keep sending the blogs and pictures. I am living in another place through your eyes and it is spectacular and invigorating. It is such a beautiful place. Have fun and be safe I love you more than tortillas and sopillas. Jennie

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb