Getting Ready


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We leave at 3:45AM from Phillie on Friday, July 23, so I am starting to gather what I need to take. The Project FIAT website is very helpful in providing lists of suggested clothes and supplies to pack. Our team leader, Anne has suggested we plan to leave behind whaever clothes we can upon our departure. They will go to the people we are serving, so I'm trying to pack some "extras" to leave on my bunk. We are also packing arts and craft supplies, games, cards, and balls to use with the children. I plan to hit up Joanne's Craft store and the dollar store this week. Tonight, I went looking for all the colored pencils and markers in the house left over from our kids. I know I could buy new ones but once sharpened and tested (to make sure they still have ink) they will be fine. Somehow it makes me feel good to know that pencils and markers my children used will be touched by other children who otherwise might not have them.

The FIAT website has been really helpful by showing where we will be living, some of the projects we will be working on, the type of housing we maybe visiting, and the clinics and the orphanage where we will be spending time. Reading a volunteer's reflections of the experience posted on the site has really tuned me into how spiritually moving this experience has the potential to be.

We've been told to identify ourselves as missionaries upon our arrival in El Salvador. Funny, I never thought I'd be making this type of claim but in fact missionary work is what we will be doing. I can't help but ask myself if I will ever be the same after living this experience?
Thanks for reading.

Advertisement



22nd July 2010

Thoughts and prayers
Hi Mary Fran, You are the best!!! I will keep you and all with you in my thoughts and prayers as you serve in El Salvador. Love, Denise
26th July 2010

Love You - Proud of You
Hey Mom, I jsut wanted to say that I miss you so much and am so PROUD of you. I am so blessed to have a brave, strong, courageous, compassionate, and empathetic woman as my Mother. You are out there doing something millions of people only wish they could be doing. You lead by example and I believe that quality in a person not only sets them apart from everyone else, but makes them a leader. You inspire me everyday Mom I love you with all my heart and thank you for being you - the most amazing woman I know! I love you and keep up the great work! See you Soon. Love, Cakes
1st August 2010

Hola!
Hi MF, just read your two blogs and I have to say I'm jealous. However with my health situation being what it is, I can't even think about the adventure. So, I will have to live the experience through you. I let Joanne know about your trip. Can't believe she still doesn't do email!!! God bless you for undertaking this mission. Bill must be a bit worried but you will be fine. I do have a minor sense of what you will encounter having worked with the mogrant farmworker population in Texas. I know your life be even more enriched than it already has been. Take good care my friend. I will continue to check your blog. How long will you be there? Love you, Rita
10th August 2010

Praying for you
Maryfran - Best wishes to you and your group. John and Marisa went to Guatemala three years ago with Barbara Daniel (God bless her soul) and a Penn State group. They had a wonderful insightful experience. Call me when you get home and we'll get together. God bless you. Peace - Marie

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb