Anticipating the Trip


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On July 23, 2010 I will be joining 18 other people from Villlanova, Pa on a mission trip to San Salvador, El Salvador. We are being sponsored by the Handmaids of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Bryn Mawr, Pa. The mission is Project Fiat. The Sisters operate a volunteer mission house there and invite groups to join them in their work for a week at a time throughout the year.

I know only one other woman in this group so far, but I fully anticipate that after this experience, there will be a special feeling among all of us. Having been to Central America (Honduras) 24 years ago, I have a sense of what I will see and the kinds of people I will meet. I am both excited and nervous. I do not speak Spanish, I know I will see poverty I've never imagined and I fully anticipate my life will be dramatically changed by this experience. At 58 years old I can't help but ask myself why I am drawn to this type of experience? Simple answer, I feel called. This call thing has steered me in a variety of ways throughout the years and in looking back, I feel so grateful for the directions my life has taken me.

After 39 years working in nursing and most recently spending the last 13 in Health Ministry, this seems to be a logical progression of things I have felt myself attracted to global medical outreach (Doctors Without Borders, Global Health Ministry)in the past, so this will be my first attempt at putting my toe in the water. Not sure where this will lead me.

I've read that the word Fiat (Let it happen in me) was supposed to have been Mary's response to the angel announcing the news that she was pregnant with Jesus. I'm not to sure what will happen in me as a result of this adventure, but I am open to the possibilities. I'm writing this blog so that I can share my thoughts and experiences with anyone who's interested, especially if someone reading this maybe considering trying this kind of a trip.

If you are reading this (out of curiosity or interest), please whisper a little prayer for all of us...that we will be safe, that we will bring our best spirit to the people we meet and that we will make a difference. Thanks for reading.




Advertisement



28th July 2010

hi
MaryFran - just letting you know that I am thinking of you and am praying for all of you. Love reading your blogs and look forward to hearing your stories in detail.............love ya!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb