El Sally and other Folks


Advertisement
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have decided to start a blog instead of writing emails so that I can also highlight photos of the many that I have and will be continuing to post on myphotoalbum.com

For those who don't know, I am currently in San Salvador, El Salvador. Today, we went to the University of Central America. A site where 6 Jesuit Priests were assassinated along with 2 houseworkers. There is now a rose garden in the place of where the Priests where found, and the Stations of the Cross have been replaced with graphic drawing of the Salvadoran people found dead after many hours, days and weeks, being tortured, raped and brutally beaten to death. They in place to represent the "Crucified People". Although this is the fourth time I have been to this site, it is always very hard to stomach, and although I have a pretty good understanding of the historical context, I still cannot understand what draws human beings to create such destruction against another.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb