Christmas on the Islands . . .


Advertisement
Dominica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Dominica » Roseau
December 25th 2007
Published: December 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this is Christmas.

We’re in Dominica today. I had nothing planned for a tour and most everything in the port is closed, but I’m off the ship. I wandered the streets, mostly quiet because everyone is home with family. I passed some houses, all with wreaths and garland and “Merry Christmas” on the doors. Through one window I could see a television playing a cartoon Christmas movie.

During my wanderings, I spotted the steeples of a church above the buildings and felt drawn to it. It’s bells rang as I walked up towards it. I went in and sat for awhile.

While it does not really feel like Christmas, because today is so unlike any other Christmas I’ve spent, I have an awareness of being away from those I love with they all gather together. Last night I missed the Christmas Eve candlelight service in Canfield. Perhaps that’s why I felt drawn to the church today. I’m not big on church; I feel more spiritually connected elsewhere - outside, in nature, with people. But looking back on growing up and going to church, it was important because of the community, the gathering of people, connecting and celebrating and just being together. And so, at Christmas time especially I enjoy church for just that. Sitting in the church in Roseau, even by myself, alone in the empty space, I felt that community back home. Not just in Canfield, but with all of my family and friends who are back home.

I’ve had twinges, moments of really missing people and being with them. Like hearing Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers Christmas music playing - that album has always been my definitive holiday album because we’ve played it in our house as long as I can remember. Or yesterday, when I had key lime pie in the mess (the one mess food I love!), I was so happy, but knew I’d be missing mom’s homemade pie. And I wish I could be there to watch my family open gifts. I love giving presents and watching them be opened.

But even as I miss everyone at home, I am so happy to be where I am. I feel lucky to have loved ones back home who I will return to. And down here, right now, while it is a new and different one, I feel part of a community. I liked all the hugs and kisses and Christmas wishes in the crew bar last night. Love seeing people wear holiday hats and angel wings. I love being the social host for my teens’ celebrations last night (and will again tonight). I’m happy to be with new friends and some who already feel like old ones. I’m happy to have this little floating community and to be celebrating with and amongst it.

And so this is Christmas.

And I am happy.

I hope you are too.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



29th December 2007

We also play the Dolly/Kenny CD non-stop at Christmas. Doesn't really feel like Christmas when away huh? I've been thinking a lot about this lately and will write it in a letter to you that I shall begin very soon. Still have yet to receive the one that's in the mail. Looking forward to it!
30th December 2007

We missed you Christmas eve!!
Hello Nettie.....we missed you lots on Christmas eve. Our Christmas Cantata was wonderful and the gathering afterwards great, but definitely not the same without you......next year!! We've been doing lots of wining and dining and I'm sick of eating and cooking. This aft. was pretty outside with the snow gently falling....it seemed so peacefully and calming. I can't believe another year it only 29 1/4 hrs away. Have a cup or two of cheer for us. Happy New Year.......hugs and kisses.........Love your Auntie
4th February 2011
Roseau Cathedral

cathedral
awesome

Tot: 0.399s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 32; qc: 141; dbt: 0.2177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb