Out of my Window


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Out of my window

I always wondered what it would be like to sit quietly and watch the world go by from the same spot, for as long as it takes. There are these crazy people who do this - just sit in a park, for example, and watch the people and insects and the sun and moon. I, too, can say I have done this as well. In Cuba. From my hotel window.

The last two days have been eventful in Habana, I'm sure of it. I can sense it and feel in from the comotion and chatter flowing in through my hotel window. There is a cock that crows every morning, and then there are the collectivo taxis that pull up just below to pick up the locals and take them where ever they want to go to. I have seen them occassionally, on the way to the bathroom and back when I sneak a quick glance, but mainly I just listen, for moving even the slightest amount rings pain to my ears. I'm sick - the cold Atlantic breeze got the better of me, and now I'm down and out.

In true Cuban style, however, I cannot elaborate too much as I have 5 minutes remaining on my internet card, and the good man at the reception tells me they are out of cards again ("maybe tomorrow").

x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb