Havana Cuba Day 1


Advertisement
Published: November 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

CamelloCamelloCamello

One type of public transport in Havana. Picture taken from the balcony of my hotel room.
Well arrived in Cuba after uneventful flight, no problems with customs or immigration person spoke English better than I could speak Spanish, or the health check desk, I just said that I did not speak Spanish and they let me pass.

First thing I noticed stepping out of the airport was the humidity. Start sweating almost immediately.

Taxi from the airport to central Havana 25CUC, about half an hour. The area between the airport and hotel was mostly countryside. When we got to the city was quite surprised as there was no transition from rural to suburban to city areas, but perhaps that was just the route from the airport ot the hotel. Saw signs in support of the revolution, and some celebrating Cuba's sporting success, but not much else.

Hotel Inglaterra. Think it was built in 1875, and shows the signs of decayed elegance. People drinking on the from terrace looking out on to the Prado, and Parque Central. High ornate ceilings in the bar and retaurant. Painted ceramic tiles on the walls.

Mojito in the restaurant bar 2CUC, about 2 Euros, or $4 NZ. Don't really drink cocktails, so have no real opinion on the
Hotel InglaterraHotel InglaterraHotel Inglaterra

Taken from Parque Central.
thing.

Booked a tour of Havana for tomorrow and went for a wander around outside, mainly along the Prado to the Capitolio, and around Parque Central, apparently a good place for the locals to hustle tourists.

People on way home from work, crowded camellos with more people than a Mexican Metro, bicycle taxis, motorcycle taxis like tuktuks, bicycles with small peterol engines attached, American Cars, but heaps more Ladas, Japanese and European cars as well.

Looking like a tourist, so a few people ask where I'm from, how long I've been in the country, where I'm staying, ... hotel or house. Asked if I want to buy cigars ... or want to buy Cuban food, or possibly I want to buy a Cuban some food, the person's English or my Spanish not really up to it. Asked if want to buy milk for Cuban babies, and something to do with rationing ... tired of this, and it's getting dark so go back to hotel.


Want to see more photos?

Have a look at my website here: http://www.firemanonasailingship.com/photos/




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CapitolioCapitolio
Capitolio

Styled on the one in Washington, back in the days when the US had a lot more influence in Cuba.


9th May 2005

Mental note to self
next time I see you Paolo we are sitting down and I will begin your long overdue cocktail education. - Hubbers

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb