3 days in Vinales, no bus


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

We have had to hold here for another night but get on a long bus trip tomorow to the other end of Cuba. ) we hope as we need a connection in Havana but can´t prebook. James made use of the day and biked out over some hills to the beach Cargo Jutius ) a island connected to the mainland. He was going to stay but the only option was sleeping on the beach. Without a mossisto net or repellant that was looking a nightmare. He turnsup just as I was sipping rum drinks and getting dinner served after 6 hrs biking and 124k over the same hills twice in the heat.

I´ve just been doing small trips around here into other valleys and did a cool 2 hr MTB offtrack that I guessed would lead back to a road somewhere. We have been swimming in streams and also both had a half day at a hotel pool.

I´ve had a run of problñems firstly lossing my IPOD and then , for a day, my camera. The IPOD looks like my fault , left at internet office maybe and the camera had been taken by the teenage son at the casa. I explained I would have to make an insurance report to the police and within 2 hours the boy was at my door. Little shit had wiped my photo but!
So we moved casa today.

It doesn´t seem possible to add photos in Cuba. Maybe in Chile.

We are also going to have to plan for delays so will miss out one area and bike back into Havana at the end .

We miss you all and wish it was easier to phone. James especially to lorren and the boys and me to Fion etc. Love for now. We are having some great experiences and it is a real adventure. Our poor spanish is making everything harder and we are some of the few that have to use English. But thats all part of it and we are having some real laughs and muck ups.

Bye for now and it may be a while before we get on again. The comments come up and are a great may to chat.. sorry we can´t chat back.. xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



3rd August 2009

Learning curves I guess!
Great to hear from you.Tough about I Pod and photos though. James hope you are keeping hydrated with challenges loke 124 ks over hills in the heat. Imagine with neccesity your spanish vocabulary is enlarging. All well here and you were both missed at the family gathering on Saturday evening. Look after yourselves and good luck!. Much love from home.
3rd August 2009

Thanks Colleen
We had a long bus trip and are enjoyong 4 star resort. an yo pass on to lorren to use the comment as James can respond with a private message like this. We will add a blog tonight xx
4th August 2009

Kia ora anö
Hi you two I have sent a couple of blogs but perhaps I forgot to submit them for it seems that you have not received them. Oh so proud of you 2. I would not have the cuts to do it. We are all discussing your adventures and so, so interested. Thanks for the up dates. Life goes on here. The family gathering was great. Felt too short though. Catherine, Willie cooked up the most superb main Colleen, Anne etc did the deserts. The flash accomodation and the 3 meals a day, drinks etc are well earnt treats for you two.. Oh so fit now, and you Jim your muscles must be pumping with all those etc miles. Much love to you both and I will write again real soon. Please let me know if you get this or I must have a bug thats stopping the sending off of my chats to you.
7th August 2009

Thanks for the messages Joan

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb