Bye Bye Cuba


Advertisement
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 5.30am and had asked for breakfast at 6.00am. I think Julia and Pena got drunk on the champagne last night because they were pretty rowdy and they didn't get up until 6.30am, the time my taxi was booked for. Julia wrapped up a tomales for me to snack on. I'd never been up at 6.30am in Santiago, it was definitely the best time of the day with the temperature just right.

I literally spent all day in airports - from 6.45am to 8.00pm - Santiago de Cuba to Havana to Cancun to Mexico City. I was so happy to arrive in Mexico City. I'm familiar with the airport, I know where to get taxis, I trust the people, I can go about my business without being harrassed.

As I was searching for the baggage claim area, a Mexican man who had been on my Cancun to Mexico City flight pointed me in the right direction. We talked for the 20 minutes it took to get our bags. He's 35yo, works for HBO's Latin affiliate and is well travelled. I'm not sure if he's gay but I think he is -- he knew what parts to avoid in Mexico City's gay area. My hotel is in the Zona Rosa, which is the equivalent of Sydney's Oxford Street. I showed him the map I had from my Mexico City visit last month and it already had some dyke bars marked on it from the guy at the hostel. He left by giving me his number and told me to email/call him when I'm next in Mexico City.

Driving to my hotel I passed "Lipstick", the dyke bar - it's bright pink - and it instantly put a smile on my face. I didn't check in until 9pm and by the time I got out to have dinner it was after 10pm. But the streets were full of people -- lots of poofs, dykes and weird fashionistas -- I felt at home immediately. Rain was falling, a chill was in the air - I've never been so happy to see cold weather. It's good to be back in Mexico!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb