Trinidad 1


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Centro » Trinidad
April 27th 2016
Published: May 24th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Since I only have 6 days in this lovely country I really had to blast around if I wanted to see anything more than a huge city for the entire time…and you know how I feel about big cities. Even though I did enjoy my time in Habana I decided to catch a bus at 7am to Trinidad 7 hours away. Well there was an option to ride in a classic car all the way for the same price so I decided to do that. At 7:10 I asked if there was a specific time we were leaving or if just when full. Twas the latter and we curmudgeonly rolled out at 10 something finally arriving after the stupid bus would have been there but whatever. Adventure. Lol. Trinidad is even more of an old tyme colonial Spanish city than old Habana. Woa. Reminds me of San Gil in Colombia. Awesome!!! I just strolled around the first afternoon and got my bearings before stopping off at a few watering holes. There were some 2nd locations of famous bars that Hemmingway himself used to frequent. La Bodeguita del Medio and La Floridita. Fun! And then, for some reason, there was a Beatles bar that I absolutely had to check out. It was called Yesterday and they bumped Beatles’ tunes the whole time and there was plenty of memorabilia to gawk at. Fun for a Beatles fan for sure! Maybe it was the numerous variations of a Cuba Libre I had (there are no variations, I just had different kinds of rum every time hehehe) but I sat at the Floridita for quite a while listening to this live band crushing it. Three dudes and a lady playing like a mariachi band jamming like there was no tomorrow for a birthday party, few old people, and me; chair dancing my pants off. They even played Stairway to Heaven amazingly well and it was a really really fun experience to be part of. I even went back to my place and got more money so I could buy their CD. That’s how awesome it was…Boooooooooom.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb