Atenas to Jaco


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Jaco

Yurgen on the BridgeYurgen on the BridgeYurgen on the Bridge

This is part of that 450K house
Sept 24 I made it into San Jose with no problems. Both flights were early. I rented a car at the airport for $205 for a week (it's the off season), and got to my hotel, Colinas del Sol, by about 8:15 p.m. local time (mountain time). The place was dead when I got there so the yards keeper let me into my room. He told me Jurgen (pronounced Yur-gun) was around, but was a bar or restaurant at the time. Normally, Jurgen lives in Germany and comes to stay in his house overlooking the cabinas December through March, so I was a little surprised he was there.

Crocodile Video - cut and paste this - http://youtube.com/watch?v=gFHH9C-bnek

Don't Drink and Drive: Part 2 - http://youtube.com/watch?v=XH-M3oRCTGA

In the morning Jurgen told me he's lived there year round ever since his wife came to visit last January, and she mysteriously contracted a mild venereal ailment two days after sleeping with him. Well, the jig was up, and I'm surprised it lasted so long. He was always talking about all his Tica (Costa Rican) girlfriends. He's now 65 years old, and his girlfriends range from the 20s to the ripe old
PatioPatioPatio

Yugen points at the view of Atenas and the Valley
age of 42. He keeps one of those blue pills in his wallet. (Too bad he didn't have a condom in there, too).

But he certainly doesn't act his age, which makes him a very interesting person. I could fill a book with all his antics. He's got a bullet in his leg from some deal gone bad in the U.S., and he worked off and on in the states for 25 years. He is also a pilot, although he never took the time to actually take his final test. What's the point? He was flying wherever he wanted, anyway.

I took several short videos of him (including the story about his wife catching him), and I'll try and post a few of them while I'm here. Right now I'm uploading a clip of some hungry crocodiles in the Tarcoles River. I filmed some of the driving down the mountain to the coast, and I got pinched in a radar sting. They got me going 88 km (53 mph) in a 36 mph zone. Of course it was a speed trap, and every one speeds, but after quickly hiding all the cash in my wallet except $25 (so I could get my fine reduced to existing cash), the guy let me off with a warning. He said my speed wasn't too bad, but to be careful in the future. He started lecturing me about the dangers of driving fast in Costa Rica, and I said, wait, wait, can I get this on film. He asked if I was a periodista (journalist), and I said, well, mas o menos (more or less). When I was leaving, he yelled to me that the car in his radar sites was doing 110 kmh, and that he was going to get a ticket. I'm uploading his nice lecture onto YouTube now. I gave him my card, and he gave me his phone number and said if I have any problems in Costa Rica, call him.

By the way, if I don't remember to put the YouTube video links on these entries, you can alway go to www.youtube.com, and do a search for amadays1, and it will list all my videos. You can click on the 'Sort by Date Added" at the top of the screen to move my latest videos to the top of the list.

So I'm now in Jaco, on the coast, staying at the Best Western because the surf is pretty good right off the beach there. I've got a nice room for $105 an a night, and it's all inclusive, and the last time I stayed there I gained weight because of the meals, so I won't stay there too long this time. Plus, if you know me, I don't usually pay that much for rooms when I'm by myself. $60 is probably a pretty good average for the places I stay in Costa Rica. The day after tomorrow, I will probably continue along the coast past Manuel Antonio to the general vicinity of Dominical, where I hear a lot of development is happening.

paul ogier www.journeysbypaul.com


Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb