Rolando and Victor´s Fiesta


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

With more people than I could count, more food than I had seen this entire trip and sangria that flowed non stop, the fiesta at Rolando and Victor´s house (Alex´s brother and his friend) was a huge success. I believe the party was to mark the beginning of Christmas but I can´t be sure. I heard talk of more parties in the coming week at various family member´s homes and wished I could stay longer. They know how to have a lot of fun. They are wonderful people and very close and family is very important to all of them. Alex´s family seems to find a reason to celebrate everything, though I would guess it´s just their excuse for getting together. They love each other very much. The parents of this family did well to raise 12 siblings who can´t seem to live without each other.

We left the party after much hugging and kissing goodbye and Rolando and Victor assured me I was welcomed anytime, which was very nice to hear since Victor has a vacation home in the mountains near Volcan Arenal, one of the most beautiful places in all of Costa Rica, and I´d love to see
Larry, Alex and MeLarry, Alex and MeLarry, Alex and Me

In 2005 with our friend Larry (far left) from Texas.
it. Dean and I agreed we would make the drive there the next time I visit and he will paint while I write.

This is a good opportunity to introduce you to Dean Olson, a wonderful friend who has lived with Alex in Costa Rica for five years. He is from Portland and has also lived in Bozeman and in the Hollywood area. His paintings are hanging all over the walls down here and many of them are not even on display. His paintings have been sold in more countries than I can mention. As I write this, Dean is working on a canvas...a Costa Rican beach with an impending storm settling over it. At 73 years old, he has lived a colorful life and retiring to Costa Rica to paint seems like a dream come true for him. I count myself lucky to have a friend such as Dean.

Alex, too, is a wonderful character rich with personality. I met him my first trip to Costa Rica many years ago as he owned the hostel, la Mariposa Azul, in downtown San Jose near Sabana Park´where I stayed. The hostel has since been sold and Alex is now doing different things but seems happy with his life. I´m lucky they consider me a friend...they are a very influential family and I believe to be invited into the inner circle of this family is a great honor.



Advertisement



18th December 2006

Family
I know exactly how you feel about Alex and the Quesada Family. I have spent many happy hours with all of them. I think the most fun was the time we all met and viewed the horse parade on Pasada Colone, New Years Day 2004. I look forward to being there in beautiful Costa Rica very soon.
18th December 2006

Friends Made In Costa Rica
An ancient Costa Rican proverb says the friends one makes in Costa Rica are friends for life. Really that´s just MY proverb, but it has proved to be true. We miss our good friend Don! Debbie

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb