Tortugas, Rice and Beans.


Advertisement
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buenos,

Its been another amazing week for me. I love the ocean.

I spent the last six days on Playa Longosta. It is part of the very expensive touristy town of Tamarindo. We spent our days comfortably tucked away in our tin shack between the huge hotel to the left and the enormous condos to the right. It was quite the humbling experience. The beach was incredible and beautiful shells were scattered everywhere. By day, we worked clearing the beach and swimming and by night we walked up and down the beach in three hour shifts. I saw four turtles, Black turtles and Lora turtles. Unfourtunatly, no one saw a Leather Back. I did see their tracks though, HUGE!!!!

At one point, I was overcome with determination to clear a certain area of beach. We were all sweating and slaving under the hot sun pulling these pesky beach vines that are deeply rooted in the sand. Slowly, one by one, each group member gave into the tempting cool waters which tempted us constantly. I locked eyes with my leader Barbra and we both knew the other person wasn´t going to give up. We pushed on, tearing those awful vines untill my hands were bleeding. At last, we pulled the last of them up. Never has the ocean felt so refreshing. My reward was a huge plate of rice beans and vegetables.

I can´t believe I have been back in C. America for a month. The time just flies by. In only three weeks I will be back home in Vermont. I am terribly excited for these last two weeks here and am ready for whatever comes our way next. My group has become my family and I love sharing this experience with them. The transition to home is going to be a strange one, but I am very excited for what I have awaiting my return.

Tommorow we are off to Honduras. We are doing a week long homestay and an unknown service project. I hope, hope, hope that there is some sort of computer access available becuase I have about 30 pages to write. Then, its off to Roatan for a week of Scuba Diving. I think its a perfect way to bring the trip to a close. With any luck, I will have a tan for Christmas. Don´t count on it though.

My love to you all! See you in three weeks.
-EMMA


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb