Days 27 and 28 - Soccer In Seattle and Nostalgia (Griffey Jr...)


Advertisement
Published: November 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=r1kesqDBXh0]
The Kid - JuniorThe Kid - JuniorThe Kid - Junior

My childhood hero. He did more for Seattle than a lot of people will admit.
Day 27 - September 30, 2008

Today I realized my new teacher in Business Spanish is a little bit crazy. We'll see how this plays out. Stay tuned.

The night class was tough (the business class I have with all Costa Ricans taught in Spanish) because there were lots of new words and people talked fast. At least I picked up on a good amount of it. It makes you pay attention in class when you have be attentive to merely translate what is being said.

When I got home I watched the Saprissa game (the local favorite futbol team). It made me realize how absurdly excited I am for Seattle to get a Major League Soccer (MLS) team. Seattle Sounders FC is going to be amazing. Sure, they took our NBA team, but at least now we have a chance to be a part of the world's game! I look forward to screaming my lungs out, face painted, cowbell/drum obnoxiousness at Qwest Field. Perhaps I shall become a season ticket holder...

Day 28 - October 1, 2008

I started being a ridiculous child in class today. We started throwing paper, passing notes, making funny faces,
The World's Game!The World's Game!The World's Game!

I'm excited. This spring, I'm there.
writing letters home, etc. The teacher would just bury her head at the desk and not pay attention to us, so we wreaked havoc. It was fun to act like we were in grade school or junior high again. Then again, I tend to act like that all the time. Maybe that's a problem. What's my age again? But, I remember the lyrics of a Pixies song, "Being grown-up isn't half as fun as growing up..." I concur.

I saw a highlight from a Chicago White Sox baseball game today where Ken Griffey, Jr. made a great throw from center field to home to save the game for the Sox. I almost teared up a little bit. Seem absurd? Well, you have to understand that I grew up IDOLIZING the Kid. This guy raised me. I learned to play baseball just like Griffey did. I wanted to be him. I still do. He was on track to be the BEST EVER. Then he got hurt and dissed and was never the same. With this play, I saw a highlight reel of my life a decade ago. He was Seattle's hero. He always will be for those that experienced him.
The LogoThe LogoThe Logo

My new Seattle Sounders FC. The tradition begins.
Sometimes it's hard letting go of the past and seeing the slow downfall of your hero. Rock on Junior.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb