Meeting new friends...Ticos & Gringos


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Margie and I left Nitzi's house at about 11am today to take a bus to meet a new expat couple she had met on the Internet at a local cafe. When Julie & Rick arrived we all picked out the food we wanted for lunch, cafeteria style and sat down together. A very down-to-earth couple that has lived in CR for over two years....California transplants. They lived in several different areas around San Jose and seem pretty happy with their location in San Pedro. We each ordered a fairly typical CR combination plate called a bocado with a meat, rice, beans, roll, salad. It's a lot of food so next time Margie & I might share. Although if you can bring leftovers right home then it means no need to cook dinner! So the four of sat and talked for over an hour. It's always nice to talk with expats who know their way around better than we do and hear their stories!

At 2pm Margie and I parted ways with Rick & Julie and caught a bus to downtown San Jose. We were on our way to a barrio (neighborhood) on the west side of San Jose called Pavas. Our goal was to meet a woman artist named Sonia Amfaro. She painted a picture I purchased back in August and what a thrill to meet her and go to her home and see many of her paintings and where she paints! It was through the Partners of the Americas organization that I heard about paintings by Ticos that would be in display in Bend in August. I really felt drawn to one painting that Sonia did and purchased it, found her online through facebook a couple weeks before coming down to CR to see if she might like to meet. We then connected by email once I was here and the rest is history. I have a couple photos to post but may not get to that tonight.

Sonia was kind enough to take us to downtown San Jose to catch a bus to go back to Nitzi's house. Her doing this meant we avoided having to take another 2 buses and saved us at least an hour in getting home.

Well that's all for tonight. I need to pack for one overnight stay in Atenas tomorrow night. We'll be staying with my friends Kat & Layne so we can learn more about Atenas and see at least one possible rental for me. So we need to leave Nitzi's by 8am to catch the bus to downtown San Jose in order to catch the bus to Atenas. That's a one hour bus ride. We'll come back Monday sometime. I probably won't take my heavy computer with me so hasta luego.....Barb


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



16th January 2011

That is great that you got to meet the artist! I love that painting that you have. Hope you have a good time in Atenas and maybe it will be a better fit for you. Love you! me
18th January 2011

your trip
Hi Barb: I tried to email you and then call you by phone, but it didn't work; I'll confirm your ph no. when you get home. I received all of the infor. you sent. Thanks so much; I'm still reading it all,etc. By the time you get back, maybe I'll have some answers. I've been following your blog; how exciting to see where you've been and what you're up to. It's like keeping a journal on the computer. I'll keep this short; I hope it goes thru. Bye for now, Maryann.
18th January 2011

hi Mary Ann
I could tell someone was trying to contact me. Not sure why you couldn't get through. I'm soooo glad you're following my blog and enjoying it! I'll be posting photos tomorrow morning that go with my most recent posting. For some reason I can only upload one at a time and they take a very long time each. Take care of your self! I'm glad you're reading over the info I sent to you about ASEA. Take care of yourself! Love, Barb
18th January 2011

it was very neat meeting Sonia
and yes Atenas is a much better fit for me...stay tuned to for my next blog which will include an update on where I'll be living there!

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb