Of earthquakes, fiestas and the simple things


Advertisement
Published: September 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What's up friends?



So I reckon a few of you want to know about the earthquake that apparently made international headlines? It struck early in the morning, around 8:45ish? I was in class, on the second floor. Everything began to shake, violently, and we (eventually) evacuated the building. Not having 'earthquake evacuation training' us gringos must've looked like bewildered idiots. Regardless, everything was fine and we made it out without much damage. The coast, where it struck had some structural damage, but nothing brutal. It's a tribute to the planning of buildings here that there wasn't more damage. The earthquake was at 7.6 - the second largest in recorded history of Costa Rica. However, it occured very deep in the earth, if it was more shallow, the damage would've been much more catastrophic. Over 1200 aftershocks were registered including one of 5.6 magnitude. The quake triggered a chain reaction that may culminate in the eruption of Volcan San Cristobal, Nicoragua's largest volcano. It has been spewing ash for a few days now and 3,000 people were evacuated. Well. Onto non volatile subjects.

On Friday night, I traveled to a couchsurfing party that I had a blast at. It was incredible to meet a lot of locals, and fellow travelers. I was able to practice my spanish and have some fun as the night went on. Saturday, my roommate Chin-we and I went to a reggae bar in San Pedro, which was a very cool experience. On Sunday, Anna, a teacher at my academy and I scoped the town for some new scenes. We grabbed some wicked delicious empañadas and caught futbol.

Now. Onto my gripes of the simpler things. At this point I will kill for a warm shower. My shower has two temperatures: Cold, and off. I have to talk myself into getting in it every morning. Second. Bags o' Juice. In anywhere that has common sense, when you order drinks to go - they give you a up. Not Costa Rica. No sirree. You get a bag. And you walk around like you're taking a goldfish home from the pet shop. You either stab it with a straw, or bite the end off and suck it out. The traffic here is absurd. You take your life in your hands every time you cross the street. I saw my life flash before my eyes when my taxi driver took me through a traffic circle. I'm sure there's more. However, if this is the worst of it, then I'm dealing well with culture shock.

In other news, what am I doing after this course you ask? Thanks to a suggestion by a fellow coworker, I am taking an intensive Spanish/Surf/Fire Throwing Class. Badass I know. The school is located in Montezuma, which is at the tip of the Nicoya peninsula on the West coast. There I will also live in the tropical paradise that Costa Rica is.

Anywho, I hope all is well with you wherever you are. Until next time.

Advertisement



11th September 2012

I'm picturing you tapping away at your laptop while there's spewing ash, ruins and pure chaos happening behind you... Sounds like you're certainly getting the full Costa Rican experience, that's for sure! And those bags o' juice -- reminiscent of Brandywine School District cafeteria offerings circa 1999, no? Keep on keeping on & updating!

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb