San Jose: Concrete Jungle


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from San Jose, the capital of beautiful Costa Rica. I arrived via the red-eye this morning at about 5:30am delirious and dehydrated-- what's up with the one serving of miniature water once during the 5 1/2 hour flight? After a bumpy cab ride I arrive at the El Hostel Pangea and greeted warmly by the guy just finishing the graveyard shift. A quick tour revealed the drunken carnage from the previous night, a couple randoms passed out on the sofa and some cardboard boxes overflowing with beer bottles branded with names I've never seen or heard sitting under a giant banner advertising $1 dollar Jagermeister shots. I immediately regret not sleeping on the plane. Pura Vida baby.

Since I am not able to obtain a key to my room until 2pm I decide to order some huevos con jamon, coupled with some coffee that was as smooth as any I've ever tasted. Afterwards, I light up a smoke and I'm joined by Sam, a nice guy originally from Austin, TX. He tells me about his solicitation from a random sailor off the coast of Panama for a trip to some obscure Colombian island chain, a request that he obliges without hesitation-- good pictures by the way Sam.

Later, I decide to kill time by walking towards the center of town and almost instantly I find myself lost in a barrio somewhere off the beaten path and getting the major stink eye from some passing locals. Not really hostile looks, but subtle, but easily read aloud "wtf?" looks. After speed walking a mile or so I finally break down, hail one of the thousands of taxis roaming the street, and ask him to take me to my original destination, 7th Street Books. I browse a bit, debate buying a Luis Bourges compilation but ultimately decide against it, funds are tight. I head towards center square where I'm astonished at the number of pigeons permeating the entire interior of downtown. A couple thousand at least clamoring for human food, some of which is fed to them, other that is just thrown on the street (didn't see too many trash cans).

Finally, I hit a jewelery shop and buy a couple knock off pendants then head back to the hostel. I've gotta go get my key now so I can sleep and then hit the pool later maybe. I'll be back in a couple weeks from Copa Buena, Cheers.

Advertisement



9th June 2011

Saludos a Costa Rica desde Salamanca
Espero tus otras aventuras con mucha anticipación. Aquí en Salamanca todavía está haciendo frío.. o por lo menos muy fresco con viento y lluvia.¿te imaginas? Voy también subiendo fotos a mi Facebook, pero no hemos subido el blog todavía. Hasta.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb