Mas o Menos


Advertisement
Published: February 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ahh loow! Thats what mi mama always says when she answers the phone. Well its been a few days so alot has happened! Where to start? I had orientation the first two days which was a lot of learning about the university and campus and how things were run and blah blah but then again, i missed probably 60% of the information because it was in Spanish.. 😊 But I'm going to stop mentioning spanish now until i have something more positive to say! However, I have learned that in alot of situations that you can say "Si si!" or "esta bien" or "mas o menos" and people will generally except that with whatever they were trying to say even if you didn't get it at all. But i do like sitting down for dinner with my Tico mom and trying to think of questions to ask even if I don't quite grasp the answer. Anyways so yeh Monday was longgg but a funny thing is that for some reason ISEP told our parents to pack us two snacks for the day even though they gave us a huge lunch (lunch is the biggest meal en Costa Rica, but there is no siesta! Can you believe?) and mi mama packed me a mango a banana and an orange and a huge sandwhich like on a hoagie bun.. ha two snacks... hmm so i had to bring back the food and tell her to give me less the next day... so Tuesday I get an orange, a mango, a banana, and a pastry. Haha so today I was like "UNA fruta esta bien por favor!!" So i get the biggest mango in Heredia i think and a banana. So i've concluded that they are determined to make me nice and plump before I return to the states. Oh well, I have enjoyed all the food so far ( but don't I always?) and mi mama makes me somthign different everyday! I'm not used to someone saying Caitlin! Come, breakfast or dinner! I feel spoiled 😊 Anyways, yesterday we signed up for classes which literally took four hours and stress and tears and broken hearts, jk but it was pretty annoying. We are beginning to see that Ivelina, our director for the program, is really kinda strict and wants everything to be straight and in order, which is kinda exhausting when she speaks for like 20 min straight and half the room is lost. But most of the group went out last night for Jen, one of the girls birthday. Oh did I mention that there are maybe 15 or 20 students with ISEP and everyones is from the states and really nice and all that stuff (Only three boys though.. really? No bueno.. 😊) Today was fun! We went on a tour of Heredia and then took a bus to San Jose and saw some of the more interesting parts of the city. I took a picture of the tallest building in Costa Rica, a total of maybe 15 floors!!! Si but it would have been more fun if Ivelina hadn't been practically sprinting from point to point without time to sit or take pictures... oh well. But we did get to eat lunch a the Cafe de Theatro Nacional which has been around since the time of colonization and was really ornate and pretty. Hah me and lauren missed the tour though because after lunch we had free time so we went to buy our phones with Jose ( he is one of the assitants of Ivelina) and it ended up taking alot of time... Ivelina was kind of mad... oupps. But San Jose it interesting because its a big city with all the building, busy streets, lots of people and shops, but still has the Latin American feel with vendors and a craft market oh and all the beautiful mountains surrounding it. We took the tren back and while everyone else got icecream, I tried to eat my mango but failed and got really sticky and had mango in my teeth. Hmmm i guess thats all i can think of now and its getting kind of late, well its 1015 but i have to wake up real early tom because we are going on an excursion! yay! More to come later mi amors!! and no pictures tonight, lo siento!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb