Sometimes, it is just a scouting trip for future vacations…Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: October 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got to go to Costa Rica last week for another workshop, but this time I wasn’t able to stay and be a tourist due to late scheduling, other commitments, etc. So for trips like this one, I like to think of it as a way to get an overview of a place, talk to some locals, and figure out what I will do in the future when I come back there for a vacation. With Costa Rica, that is definitely a “when” I go back, not an “if.”

The people were fantastic! So friendly and helpful. What more can a tourist ask for?

Even in the rainy season and stuck in the capital city, the natural beauty of this land is easy to see. My first thought driving out of the airport was GREEN. Every direction I looked were gorgeous plants, lush greenery in all shapes and sizes. Pretty spots of color from flowers, but overwhelmingly green. I can only imagine the national parks and rain forest areas nearby to San Jose.

Hills, mountains, and valleys make up the topography that I saw in and around San Jose. Driving over a bridge to see a plunging landscape of multi-shaped greenery covering every inch of the earth until it hits the river below. Fields of green with mountains in the distance. Low-hanging clouds and fog gave me a feeling that we were in a city high above the clouds.

No rain in the mornings, rain every afternoon and evening. Perhaps this explains how everything can be so wonderfully green.

I was told the bugs are big - huge spiders and the like. I was walking in the neighborhood of the hotel, and happened to look up at the trees above me. In the space between the branches of two trees, I saw an intricate canopy of spiderwebs and huge spiders. At first glance, the spiders look like they’re floating in the air between the trees. Then I realize that there is a spider city up there full of webs and spiders hanging out. This was over the archway/entryway of someone’s driveway to their home. I’m not sure I could walk that walkway everyday. These spiders were huge and so many. I snapped a quick photo and moved along.

I only had one morning pre-10:30 a.m. to “explore.” One of my colleagues from work had tried to think of something I could do to experience Costa Rica so early in such a short amount of time. He asked, “Do you have your running shoes?” “Yes.” “Do you have shorts?” “Yes.” “Then you must just leave your hotel and go for a walk or run. Look around. See the landscape around you. That is Costa Rica.” Great advice - without making it to a beach, a national park, a zip line, or a rain forest, without seeing a single monkey, I felt like I got taste of Costa Rica. And yes, I want to go back.


Advertisement



26th November 2010

Nice Blog
Nice Blog! I see that your blog is about travel. I want to share some info with you. Citymedia foundation(http://citymediafoundation.org) has launched www.city.vi , a network of 68,000 city specific video sites, where you can share videos about cities and regions across the world. like for Paris videos you can visit http://Paris.vi . You can also find out about other cities that you are interested in. Hope to see you there. suparnadilip@gmail.com www.city.vi

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb