Its been a month...


Advertisement
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so Ive been in Costa Rica for a month now and still, everything is exciting!
Well, I d be worried if it wouldnt be... SO, I have finished school yesterday, which was sad in a way, because now its on me to improve my Spanish, but hey I am still surrounded by all these Spanish speaking people, which is at times still jibberish to me!!
Anyway, I got my certificate yesterday as well in some low key graduation ceremony and I am Level 3, whatever that means and am now starting my volunteering project. I did have to give a talk in Spanish yesterday as well by the way. I wasnt prepared at all, but my topic was the traditions in my hometown, like "Kloatscheeten" and that stuff so I was lucky enough to be able to make things up for 15 minutes. I am still confused with conjugations, gerundium, tenses and all that, but that will come!!
As mentioned before, I will be going to the National Park Gandoca Manzanillo close to Puerto Vieijo and the border to Panama. It look like that most of the work will be carried out at night, meaning I have got to get up at random times at night anmd patrol the beach with 2 other Volunteers. As we are doing all patrols at night, I am afraid, there wont be any pictures!!! Sorry! I will try to get some in the hatchery by the camp. But the Turtles are only out at night and very sensitive to light! I even have to get some red foil for my torch.. Oh well.. I am really looking forward to the change! Living on the beach, how amazing! The city is just not made for me, too loud, too much pollution, too many people. But hey, it was fun while it lasted! What I am not loking forward is to read the Turtle manual we got, its like 20 pages and all in Spanish... Yes, I was quite ambitious when I asked for the Spanish copy, but just in case I got the English version as well.
Mhh, so what else... I have been really tired this week, not sure if its the weather or lack of sleep (I still wake up at 6am every morning. We went to a condert of some CR band last night, the university organised a week of concerts for the new students which was fun. Went to a bar called caccios after which sells 1 litre beer for 1.400 colones, so $3. Really cheap! But as I cant handle alcohol here, am feeling quite tipsy after 2 beers, I just stuck to my Bavaria.
Its just so bizarre to think I have already been here for 4 weeks!!! It doesnt feel like that at all! Have met so many nice people on the way and done so many things like the tours at the weekend and time has just flown by!! Weird!
Well other exciting news: As I am having so much fun here, I have decided it would be a shame to leave without having seen little of the country or well, Central America, so I have changed my flight the other day and am staying for another month!! If anyone is interested in joining me on my travels, you are more than welcome!
Ok, I have waffled on for quite a while now, will stop to bore you and add some pictures instead!!
And by the way, I am not quite sure, how frequent future blogs will be, a the Park is kind of disconnected from the outside world and I am working 6 days a week!
Hasta luego!! Have a great weekend!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb